Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2015
Great Series The adventure to rescue their son drives Garion on against Zandramas who appears to be changing in more ways than just into a Dragon - something is happening with Zandramas. Book out of 5 of the Mallorean Series,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Read all of these when they were first published and had not read them for years (despite still owning the hard copies). Downloaded them for holiday reading when I first bought my kindle, together with Polgara, Belgarath & the Rivan Codex which I had not read before. Still fantastic reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2000
This book carried on the the thrilling quest of Belgarion to find and save his son. For me this book was slightly too long, in that there was a fair amoubt of repitition towrds the end, although divid eddings still managed to put in enough action to keep me reading almost without pause for a weekend. Sorceress of darshiva begins to bring together the plots from the first three books of the Mallorean in preparation for the final Book of the series, yet still manages to develope the characters, and provide the odd answer to questions raised in the Belgariad. if you've like the previous 3 [or 8 :)] then this book is a must buy!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
The steady build of events and drama leads us to the final battlefield. Who will win and what will be the consequences, only time will tell. Read this numerous times and still finding new nuances to think about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
I have thoroughly enjoyed this series by Eddings but it was not until the completion of this book that I really understood the brilliance of tale. I have ploughed my way through the Belgariad and another four in the Malloreon, not once have I considered it a waste of time. What shall I do when I complete the set? Please make this into a blockbuster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2000
It seems as though Eddings has been able to keep up the quality writing. The characters seem to be real as they do most things a normal person would do. The use of humour in the books is excellent and it makes them well worth reading.
A brilliant job, keep up the good work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
The style, plot, characters and landscape continue to thrill and delight; we are brought along with the Quest in a way that confirms previous experience, and yet there is always something new to learn, some new race, culture or being that adds to, and validates, Eddings' skill and vision. I still have the Elenium and Tamuli to live through, but am already disappointed that at some point it will all end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2011
I love David Eddings books they are brilliant but I am not happy with the product it'self it is used but was said to be in good condition and it is not (in my opinion) my advise would be buy new and give the second hand a miss, the contact with the seller wasn't fab very basic and not actually giving much useful info, I will not use the supplier again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
This book forms part of a terrific series beginning with `Belgareth the Sorcerer'. I don't read much of this genre (fantasy) but like The Hobbit/ Lord of the Rings this will appeal to a large audience.

Following Belgareth the Sorcerer there are two series of 5 books, `The Belgariad' and `The Mallorean' and it is advisable to read them in order, and if you can read `Belgareth' first (although you could save it and read it afterwards like a prequel).

I raced through the series. The Eddings' (the books were written by a couple) create a Tolkein-esque world with our hero Belgareth learning powers known as `the will and the word' through centuries of study under a benevolent God (the gods that created this world still live on it in physical form). This study elevates him to the status of a sorcerer and elongates his life span - he becomes a legend and a force for good in the world. However, another disciple of his benevolent master rebels and steals the holy `Orb' stone, following a more sinister God. In the later series the Gods have left the planet in fear that their battle will destroy the world but their peoples continue to war - following the Prophecies left to them by the Gods. The two series follow the course of events as Belgareth leads the hunt for the traitor and the stone. It's very cleverly written and characters and events reappear as we become familiar with the history of this fictional world through the course of the books.

Really good fun and a definite recommendation if you want a light hearted escape that will keep you reading late into the night.

This is the order of the books:

The Belgariad
1. Pawn of Prophecy
2. Queen of Sorcery
3. Magician's Gambit
4. Castle of Wizardry
5. Enchanters' End Game

The Malloreon
1. Guardians of the West
2. King of the Murgos
3. Demon Lord of Karanda
4. Sorceress of Darshiva
5. The Seeress of Kell
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2000
A word of caution: If you don't have time to read the entire saga, then don't buy this book!
The entire saga is a Masterpiece in fantasy-writing. To be compared with Tolkiens Lord of the Rings. This a must for all fantasy-lovers.
Eddings writes with style and humour. A true Master.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse