Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
144
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2014
I love Pratchett, especially the Discworld parodies, this one being a parody of Phantom of the Opera. It features an opera house and the company, a ghost and the witches Weatherwax and Ogg amongst its list of characters. It is absolutely brilliant and I defy any reader not to laugh out loud during most of the goings on. Highly recommended.
It arrived promptly and was adequately packaged. Good vfm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 November 2014
This story is based around the Phantom of the Opera but I found it to be quite a compelling read. Quite a lot of the old characters are involved and used in an intertwined way that made the whole book interesting. If you like the Discworld novels you will like this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 11 March 2015
This is the eighteenth Discworld novel by Terry Pratchett, and features the witches - Nanny Ogg and Granny Weatherwax. Magrat is off enjoying her new life as a married woman, and Nanny and Granny think that they would be better off with a third in their coven. The best candidate seems to be the young Agnes Nitt from Lancre, but Agnes isn't there any more - she's gone to Ankh Morpork to become an opera star. Goodness knows she can sing beautifully, and with incredible and rare talent - if only Agnes can get people to see past the fact that she has a wonderful personality, and great hair.

This is a wonderfully typical Discworld novel - there is madness and mayhem abounding; the opera is a great setting in which to again visit Ankh Morpork, and the trials and tribulations of poor Mr Bucket as he tries to make a living out of staging opera in a haunted Opera House makes for a great read. Nanny and Granny Weatherwax are in top form as always, and the key role played by Nanny's ghastly cat Greebo in this story make for a good spot of humour. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 11 March 2015
This is the eighteenth Discworld novel by Terry Pratchett, and features the witches - Nanny Ogg and Granny Weatherwax. Magrat is off enjoying her new life as a married woman, and Nanny and Granny think that they would be better off with a third in their coven. The best candidate seems to be the young Agnes Nitt from Lancre, but Agnes isn't there any more - she's gone to Ankh Morpork to become an opera star. Goodness knows she can sing beautifully, and with incredible and rare talent - if only Agnes can get people to see past the fact that she has a wonderful personality, and great hair.

This is a wonderfully typical Discworld novel - there is madness and mayhem abounding; the opera is a great setting in which to again visit Ankh Morpork, and the trials and tribulations of poor Mr Bucket as he tries to make a living out of staging opera in a haunted Opera House makes for a great read. Nanny and Granny Weatherwax are in top form as always, and the key role played by Nanny's ghastly cat Greebo in this story make for a good spot of humour. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Pratchett books are always clever and witty, taking everyday objects and well known scenarios and adding his own personal twist to it so that they are entirely Discworld. Any of the books containing the witches is always going to be good and this is no exception !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
I don’t know what it is about Maskerade, but I just didn’t really enjoy it – I think a lot of the nuances were lost on me because I’m not really a fan of opera, one of the main themes that the novel looks at. But the thing is, as with most Pratchett books, there’s a lot for you to enjoy regardless, which is why I had to give it a 7/10 despite the fact that I didn’t really enjoy it.

Roughly speaking, the story line follows Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg, as they visit the bright lights of Ankh-Morpork to spend a day at the opera. Nanny Ogg is owed royalties from her publisher for her successful cookbook (which, by the way, has been released in our world, as well as on the Discworld), and the two are also on the hunt for a new recruit to the coven to replace the void left by Magrat Garlick. Unfortunately, as you might expect when the witches are involved, nothing is ever that easy.

Now, I’m told that this novel is a parody of Phantom of the Opera, but seeing as I don’t know the story line to that, that doesn’t mean much to me. I just had to take it at face value, and perhaps that’s why I wasn’t too impressed. To me, it almost feels like a waste of a Discworld novel, and I for one would jump at the chance to wipe Maskerade from the history books and to replace it with a new Ankh Morpork City Watch book. Unfortunately, that’s not the way that the world works, so this’ll have to do!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
Great condition for an used book! The cover is one of the black ones, not the colourful traditional ones...but that is just a minor detail (at least for me)
Already finished reading it, and like any other Terry Pratchett book, specially with the Witches story line, absolutely loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 April 2013
Fans of the Discworld will love this theatrical based fantasy satire from one of the genre's most popular authors. Maskerade focuses on the witches, led by the indomitable Granny Weatherwax, and introduces another fine Pratchett character, Agnes Nitt. The story lampoons 'Phantom of the Opera', along with all of human nature. This is one of my favourite Discworld stories and I have re-read it many times, mostly because it captures the excitement and real-world 'magic' of the stage. It's also genuinely funny and has a decent who-dunnit element. Those new to Discworld might prefer to start with one of the earlier 'witches' books (Wyrd Sisters or Witches Abroad), but that isn't essential and this is definitely the best of the subset. Knowledge of the story of 'Phantom' and of musicals/opera generally might enhance some of the jokes, but again it's not essential. I would always recommend Pratchett to a wide range of readers, even those who don't usually have much interest in fantasy, because of their satirical nature. It will be enjoyed by teenagers as well as adults, especially if they have an interest in performing. Many young girls will identify with aspects of Agnes' experience, and she is an immediately likable character. But most importantly it's a novel that is great fun to read that I think most people would enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
A fine example of Sir Terry's ability to point out the foibles and frailties of human existence while making one laugh out loud. Not, perhaps his best ever but that just means its still better than most other writers efforts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
This was the first Pratchett book I read, and I was blown away right from the outset. The characters are very well rounded and easy to identify with, meaning you can really get into the book and be interested in what happens to Granny Weatherwax, Gytha Ogg and Perditax. Pratchett has written a very skillful parody of the Phantom of the Opera, and it leaves you giggling the whole way through. The very final scene is both a fitting end and funny with it, something not many authors achieve. Ive remained a massive fan of Pratchett, but this book is my favourite, Ive read it many times, and will do so again in future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse