Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
296
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2015
A brilliant account of the exploits of US helicopter pilots during the Vietnam conflict. A must read for people that like reading contemporary accounts on the history of warfare
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Mr mason tells a great story of his experience in Vietnam. All the futility of war is here for all to see and as you read you begin to feel the effect it is having on the author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I read this book years ago as a paper back so have now bought it as a kindle book to re read it. Excellent book now available on the equally excellent kindle format. Recomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Offers a real insight of pilots' experience during the war. A real page turner. Always interesting, both moving and amusing at times. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This was an enjoyable read. Well written and the details of helicopter flying was an interesting way in to the horrors of the war and made things seem more real and relatable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Having an interest in flying helicopters this is my favourite book, ( an easy read) particularly as it is based on fact and written by a Vietnam veteran pilot. Wonderful !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
I read this book in paperback 25 years ago and it never left my mind. Now having bought it again from kindle I remember why - it's just brilliant - a proper Boy Scouts book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
An honest and wonderful biography of a young man coping in an environment so awful most of us could never comprehend. It is amazing what the human spirit can cope with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
One man's war, against a resourceful enemy and the terrors in his own mind, these days treatment for PTSD is pretty good. It's a very good read for all ex servicemen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
If you are interested in the Vietnam War or just a plain old aviation enthusiast this is one of the best reads on either side; with a particularly poignant finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)