Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
51
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 12 April 2017
Great book, new condition, worth every penny, doing a degree in history, very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I bought this as an extra for my grandson's 12 birthday. He was not expecting to receive this and was absolutely delighted to get it. Even as a much younger child he was always reading our copy which is much older and will now have to be replaced.

I would recommend this book to everyone regardless of age.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
All - encompassing biographical content, I haven't found a single person I have wanted to find more about who is not included.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
This book is very comprehensive and very up to date. A very useful tool for my crosswords. Very pleased I bought it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
This is a very comprehensive reference book which is right up to date. It covers a wide range of people. On account of the high number of entries, it is a weighty book, but definitely worth having.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
For those who are passionate Crossword Puzzle fans this publication is a boon for solving clues about people and what they do or create or produce or star in. I have not given it a full rating because there is no comprehensive cross referenced Index at the end. It seems obvious that one must now buy another companion volume that will allow cross referencing between the two. Even better would be it this volume could be in an electronic device that could be searched.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
This book is full of very useful facts. One drawback, however, is the very small print, but I was warned of this before purchase. The other drawback is some difficulty in finding facts as there is no alphabetical listing to the index and it is not always clear regarding under what heading your required information can be found.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
I upgraded from the 5th edition to the new 9th edition.The older one boasts 20,000 entries but the new one only 18,000. So who has been deleted and on what basis. As I use the book mainly for crossword solving this could be a worry causing me to keep the old version alongside the new. The more frustrating aspect is the small typeface and the faint print. This is still an outstanding book but some people may need to consider buying a magnifying glass in order to decipher the small print.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
The best book on my bookshelf - what an absolute mine of information !! A copy should be in everyone's library.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)