Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
14
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2012
Disappointing becasue it is described as Chambers Paperback Dictionary so I thougfht this was soft-back version of the standard edition. It was in essence a convenient pocket style size. An excellent dictionary but a bit misleading in the description. WD.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I was reluctant to buy another dictionary, as I have a few already. However, this was recommended for a course I am on, and as it wasn't expensive, and my other dictionaries are older now, I bought this one. It's really quite handy, with good information at the beginning on how to use the dictionary, which is actually a good thing to read. Also, there is a section in the middle of the dictionary, A guide to effective writing, which is very good and packed with good advice. Definitely a good dictionary to buy, especially for the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Good enough for schoolkids, bur I wanted it for doing crosswords so found it wasn't detailed enough. Arrived quickly and in very good condition.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2012
I love words, the English language etc., and sometimes I go looking up a word then find myself reading the dictionary. Well, this one isn't quite like that. It's concise, makes sure I've spelled the word properly (it's important lol); I can't find very much else to say about it really. I'm not often lost for words but on this occasion I think I am. The paper isn't very good; however, I would recommend the dictionary as it's a good price.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
This dictionary has no "A" section at all. Starts at page 39.
It is a misprinted run off which you are selling at a give away price.
Wonder why ?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
this dictionary is ideal for crosswords,the sensible size makes it easy to use.It is full of useful information which cannot be easily sourced elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This is the recommended dictionary for my creative writing course. After flicking through it, I can see why it has been chosen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
We have always had a Chamber dictionary at home. The last one was donated to a school in Zimbabwe before we returned to UK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Not as good as our old one which got "lost". Not so in depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Good service but the dictionary is disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)