Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
36
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2010
I bought this because I work as a voluntary helper in a Museum of Country Life and am occasionally asked questions on subjects I know little about, and so this handy reference is ok, if a little superficial, and lacking further explanatory illustrations after an original one; the description of clog making, for instance, needs further illustration, especially pictures of the various tools of the clogger. It is, though, nicely produced and wittily written, and in the most part complements the exhibits and their interpretive panels and so serves its purpose for me: it is just a little thin on its own.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
i used the 'look inside' device to check out this books contents but could only see as far as the list of chapters...going on that alone i expected it to be chock full with expert advice and techniques. sadly it wasn't; it was merely a brief description of each skill and a very basic couple of lines for the method used. i would say this is not really sufficient for those who want to give any of the crafts a thorough go. for example, 'canal boat painting' gives a little blurb about its origins and mentions a few styles but there's no step by step 'how to do it yourself', i looked it up online and there's so much more detailed write-ups there and better pictures. this is essentially a reference book for someone who just wants to see what crafts are out there and whether or not they have a desire to do further independant research. i liked it nonetheless and enjoyed dipping in and out, but i was left unsatisfied by the lack of attention to detail. my advice is dont spend the cash if you're expecting to recieve a guidance manual but do if you're a total novice and just fancy some light informative reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
I bought this book as a present but ended up reading it myself. what a gem. It has lots of interesting snippets of information which whet the appetite and start one off on a craft idea. I am going to follow some of them up and now look for further how to do information. It makes a wonderful bedside or coffee table book.Lost Crafts: Rediscovering Traditional Skills
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
A wide selection of skills, and trades. A very, I would call enchanting book to navigate through.
If you are looking for more in depth knowledge you will need to move on to another source to expand your skills.
As a basic reference this book works well and covers a lot of ground
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
After looking at the reviews for this book I was really looking forward to finally reading it, finding out valuable information about lost crafts, and hints and tips on how to practice them. Unfortunately I found neither and this book has to go down as probably the worst book I have bought on Amazon.

If you want a dictionary on definitions of lost crafts then this book provides the very limited information you require. If you are after information on how to practice any of the lost crafts described in the book then you will be bitterly disappointed.

Apart from making a good door stop this book is definately one to avoid!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
Terrible book. The information is lacking, no where near enough diagrams, barely a reference book for you to then go searching for real information on the subjects. Incomplete, poorly written/edited, not well enough illustrated by a long shot.

After this book, I would not even consider giving any other Una McGovern book a first glance, never mind a second one.

Very dissapointing.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Book came down fast, has a lot of subjects inside although none are explored in depth, which is a real shame, merely informing you with a paragraph or two, good book, but could be a lot better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
This book is a lovely volume with lots of the old skills that we are in danger of forgetting e.g. how to build a wattle and daub wall, bee-keeping etc.
I definitely recommend it if you are interested in self-sufficient living, history, or just finding out about how people used to live. While it could do with expanding on some entries, a description and a means to find out more is always given - the book is not a complete guide to each craft but more of an introduction and you can find out more on the crafts that interest you using the recommendations of places, books and websites that are thoughtfully included at the end of each entry.
I love it; I think you will too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
What an amazing book. All the lost crafts you ever dreamed about and more are in this book. I found this extremely interesting and useful and my young grandson equally so. It has woken new interests for him.Fully reccommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
Not as much information on pursuing lost crafts as I would have liked but a good starting point nonetheless.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)