Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 7 February 2009
It's actually quite interesting. You know the way you look up a word in a dictionary, then you see something else and you end up sat there for 20 minutes just reading stuff you didn't know before? This thesaurus is a bit like that. For example, I just looked up "Thesaurus" to put a title to this review, and I've just sat here and read a list of therapies on the same page (acupressure, acupuncture, Alexander technique...). There are these boxes of information all around the thesaurus giving supporting information in tables and sentences.

It's alot more in depth than the pocket thesaurus i've had for years, with plenty of related words on its 1127 pages. The explanation of the 'Features' and 'Structure' of the Thesaurus at the front is short and snappy and easy to refer to. There's no huge foreward, just the facts. The typeface isn't as small as the same edition dictionary, so it's easier to read than a dictionary.

The edition I bought, the one on this page published in 2004 is a match to the The Chambers Dictionary 10th Edition, both the same size/shape with matching covers and I'm very pleased to own them both, a perfect pair on my shelf.

I recommend this thesaurus wholeheartedly, completely, enthusiastically, emphatically, warmly, heartily, passionately, sincerely, genuinely, unreservedly.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2009
This is a useful volume if you are looking for everyday alternative words, say for crosswords. However, if you want more advanced language this will leave you wanting a more advanced source. It is very easy to use though.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2011
Shame on you Chambers! This Thesaurus is most disappointing. It is quite unbelievable that the publishers of the SUPERB Chambers Dictionary could come up with such a flop. The cross-referencing system is extremely poor and the range of synonyms leaves a lot to be desired. The book itself is a lot more difficult to handle in spite of being one third smaller than its companion Dictionary; unlike the Dictionary, you struggle to keep the Thesaurus open in the page you are consulting on account of the type and thickness of the paper and, presumably, also the kind of binding used. It is indeed a bit of a con.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2009
I just got this the other day and first impressions are that it's excellent.
Usual quality design and ease of use is what you expect from Chambers.
Text is done in a black bold style for each word which is very easy to thumb through.
In fact shame they don't do a thumb index for this Thesaurus but this is a small complaint because the book is near perfect. What I like more than anything else is that it's been created with a lot of fun and humour. I love the little proverbs and quotations throughout as well as the handy lists that tell you things like every type of thread used. Genius!! You never know when you might need to know something like that. By far the best Thesaurus around. Go buy it!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2010
The Chambers Thesaurus is excellent.. However I would have appreciated it if on the sales literature it had stated that it was in actual fact in A to Z form..
Which I required..

Over the past number of years we have been using the Collins Thesaurus A to Z and found it had an awful lot of ommissions which caused various problems the Chambers Thesaurus has a greter number of collective words and is a great asset.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2010
Huge improvement on the paperback predecessor. Far more extensive (twice the size) and much greater detail including supplementary colloquial/formal and additional preposition added related meaning alternatives. As a hardback hopefully more durable than my old paperback which had gone far beyond sticky tape and glue repairs. Given the above, very good value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2009
In my opinion, this is the best thesaurus on the market. I have now had three and I use them until they literally fall apart
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2009
The Chambers Thesaurus is most disappointing and I have reverted to using my very old paperback Roget's. The book is made to look the same as their brilliant dictionary, but with 2x thicker paper, larger font size, much much more unprinted paper area, it has only about one third of the entries. It's a bit of a con!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2016
This is about the same physical size as the Chambers Dictionary but has fewer pages just under 1200 as opposed to over 1800. I think that while very good, it could usefully be expanded to something like the same content as the dictionary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2010
As a devotee of English, communication in
general and a crossword compiler I find my somewhat elderly 'Roget' more user-friendly - for all its failings.
Without resorting to a tedious list of examples, I would suggest that the two main failings are the lack of a full cross-referencing system and an incomplete range of synonyms.
M.J.McGinty, Bath.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)