Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 October 2017
given as a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Great story with humour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Well thought out and takes the fear out of learning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 May 2004
The Greedy Triangle is a most unusual book in that it will appeal to three age groups, 4-5 year olds, those learning polygons for the first time, and for adults who never felt that comfortable with geometry. The book opens up the reader's mind to seeing geometric shapes all around, while providing a simple basis to remember the differences among polygons (they each differ in having one angle and side more or less than the most similar polygon).
"Once there was a triangle that was -- as most triangles are -- always busy." The book points out some of the many frequent places where triangles can be found such as "holding up roofs, supporting bridges, making music, catching the wind for sailboats, being slices of pie . . . and more." "The triangle's favorite thing, however, was to slip into place when people put their hands on their hips." This last refers to the space between the arm and the body. The triangle likes this shape because "that way I always hear the latest news . . . which I can tell my friends." And his friends like that.
But the triangle finds this boring at some point, and seeks the help of a shapeshifter to become a quadrilateral. Ennui recurs and the former triangle moves through a transition successively into a pentagon, hexagon, heptagon, octagon, nonagon, and decagon. For the first few shapes, the book outlines places you find these shapes in nature and human-made objects. A connection is also made as to whether those shapes provide juicy stories to tell friends. There is adult humor, such as noting about not being able to tell secrets learned at the Pentagon.
Eventually, this all becomes self-limiting. "Its sides were so smooth it had trouble keeping its balance." "Its friends couldn't tell which side it was on and began to avoid the shape." The shape fell down a hill. "It felt tired and dizzy, lonely and sad." "I want to be a triangle again." The shapeshifter said, "I'm not surprised."
The book has an excellent guide in the end for parents, teachers, and other adults. This includes great exercises to extend this knowledge for your child. This section also explains the terms more precisely, and defines an undecagon (11 sides) and dodecagon (12 sides).
The illustrations are in bright, electric versions of pastel colors that effectively emphasize simple shapes in their most abstract forms.
I was impressed by the sections that use examples of the shapes. Some of them I had never thought about before. This is a great way to stimulate subconscious learning. I also enjoyed the many "punny" expressions, obviously designed to amuse the adult readers. If you don't like puns, you will probably think the book is a little corny.
The book's only weakness is that the story is too predictable. That limits its appropriateness for older children. They need more complications in their stories. Since the book is aimed 4-8 year olds, it doesn't hurt a bit for the 4-5 year olds but will lose you some 6-8 year olds. This predictability is fine for new geometry students, because getting to read something more interesting than a textbook is a thrill at that point. For permanently polygon-puzzled adults, the book will seem very down-to-earth and accessible.
I also suggest that you ask your child to extend the contents of this book to identify other shapes that are not polygons (such as circles) and specific types of polygons (such as squares, parallelograms, and trapezoids). You can use the exercises in the end of the book towards these shapes, as well.
Reshape your perceptions of polygons!
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
Brilliant book - very educational but loads of fun too!!

I used this book for a plenary with Year 1s. Unfortunately for me, being British, it has quite a few American terms in it (e.g. Soccer) that needed editing when I read it aloud in order for all children to understand. Although this was not a problem, I sometimes forget to do it - whoops!

Anyway, I would definitely encourage you to buy this book! Enjoyable read for the children!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 1999
Take a journey with Mr. Triangle. My students really related to this story. They enjoyed watching the transformation of Mr. Triangle. They were able to identify more shapes and apply that knowledge to everyday items they see.The story is fun and it is a great tool to supplement any math lesson.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2008
This is an absolutely fabulous book to introduce young children aged 4-7 to shapes, polygons and associated language. The 'shapeshifter' really captured my daughter's imagination (aged 6) as he grants the wishes of Mr. Triangle who is certain that ...."if only he had one more side and one more angle his life would be far more interesting"! This is a great book to introduce geometry and investigations into polygons.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2004
This book is absolutely appropriate for all ages. After reading this bookto a 1st grade class, the children were dicussing how math is involved inthier daily lives. It is the perfect approach to explaining to childrenthat math is essential, yet can be fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
I'm so disappointed with this book. iIt's so poorly illustrated which is such a shame as better pictures of some of the links the author is making to shapes in the real world could have really brought this book to life. As it is, unless you just want your child to remember what a quadrilateral is, this book won't teach them anything.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
This is quite a nice introduction to polygons for a small child, but unfortunately it uses too many american examples for shapes. Unless your child is familiar with baseball and the Pentagon, steer clear. They'll just be confused.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse