Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 August 2017
I was a Georgette Heyer fan in my teens, and still - years later - enjoy re-reading these wonderful Regency romances.

Georgette Heyer was the queen of writing this genre, and other writers fail to match her exquisite level of detail, well-drawn characters, powerful male heroes, and strong, principled females.

I love the humour in the book, and the delightful way the story unfolds, becoming absorbed in the happenings.

Real escapism, lovely story, recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
A thoroughly delightful book. All the right characteristics for a lighthearted romance . The perfect loving husband trying to woo his very young wife. A love smitten bride who has been told not to mind her husbands mistress, but to expect good manner and courtesy from him. Then all the misunderstandings coming from this. Bring in a flighty sister who dares to do anything she believes OK to get her own way and it adds to the mix. The scene where the Brides brother and his inebriated friend try to steal her hackney carriage had me laughing for ages. I have now read this book so often I know it by heart and I still laugh! Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
Another classic Heyer Romance. The difference here is that the Hero is very blunt and antagonistic, and the Heroine is a mature lady very confident and very beautiful. Lively scenes evolve! The added "chatterbox" character of Maria (the live in poor relation) gives them all reason to wish her elsewhere! Good, easy reading with the necessary happy ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Enjoyable, as are all Georgette Heyers, but seems rushed, and not up to the standard of Venetia and Sylvester, 2 of my favourites.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
I enjoyed this book very much. The story line was great and the story move along so that you met new characters and you felt you couldn't put the book down until you got to the next part of the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
One of my favourite georgette Heyer heroines! A funny tale with lots of disparate characters thrown together with maximum effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
The plot was drawn out which made the book seem long and slow. It contained too much of non meaningful details of the period. Didn't enjoy it as much as some of her other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
A good light read with happy ending. Georgette Heyerdahl avoids all reference to the turbulent politics of the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
I was really pleased to discover many Heyer CDs readily available now on Brilliance.
The story is a good one, though the reader on this version overdoes the dramatization and is a bit 'shrill'. Pity..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2017
Another delightful tale of the Regency period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Venetia
£8.99
Arabella
£8.99
The Nonesuch
£7.99
Cousin Kate
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here