Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 21 May 2017
I don't think the title and the blurb fairly describe this book . I thought I was buying ...well, A guide to Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages, published by a University with a good reputation which issues well respected credentials in the field. Something full of guidance for designing, delivering and evaluating English lessons. Instead, it is more of a mile-wide, inch-deep survey of research findings in a myriad of subtopics. Useful, I am sure, in cramming for an undegraduate-level exam in the theory of TESOL, or writing one of those he-said, she-said academic essays, but as a guide to teaching - no, nyet, non, ikke, ei.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2009
This book really is breathtaking in just how much it succinctly covers with more than enough core knowledge of key areas that TESOL, particularly TESOL post-graduate students should know.

Carter and Nunan have created an indispensible TESOL 'bible' for students who want to stay informed about the widest possible range of TESOL areas.

It is genuinely written in an interesting and highly condensed way with great bibliography suggestions at the end of each chapter. I'm proud to have it in my library.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2015
Good price and good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2014
Thi is my core module book! it is really useful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2013
A book that is totally new and in good condition except some stains in some pages that could be erased which is 3 pounds cheaper than the 'new' books!! Love it, my first purchase in Amazon.UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2015
helpedwith the exam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2017
detailed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2011
I was disappointed with the book as the title suggests that it is a guide to TESOL but it is really only relevant to someone undertaking studies into TESOL rather than the practicalities of actually teaching.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2009
Said to be the teacher's bible and it certainly is! I use it a fair amount and can always find what I want easily. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2002
This book is excellant for students and teachers alike. It has been clearly categorised for ease of reference and I found that this helped immensly for refering to topics and aspects of the course. Every thing that you need to know can be found in this book ranging from the history of various topics to the future trends of TESOL. A plus to this book is the ability to skip chapters or read from cover to cover. Each chapter has been broken down into subheadings which break up that block text. Whether you know all there is to know about TESOL or if you are someone who hasnt a clue (like myself at the time) You will after reading this book.A big thumbs up.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)