Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 29 December 2015
A very interesting read. This is a must have book for any undergraduate studying maths as it forms the bridge between A-Levels and university maths. This definitely gets you thinking and engages you from the first page. This book saved my degree!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
Brilliant book but disappointed the exercise answers are not included!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2017
Name on the tin tells you exactly what it'll provide you with. Recommended if you need another perspective of thinking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2015
Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2014
Brilliant resource for daughter getting up to speed after gap year before term starts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2016
This was really useful as my lecturer made little to no sense so it was great to read, and an easy read too. It has some good examples to get you to understand mathematical concepts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2015
Very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2015
A must read for any budding mathematician!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2015
interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2013
* Physical

The book has a good font size printing in B&W text.

* Target Audience

This volume is clearly designed using feedback from students to help in the areas where perceived difficulties are common and repeatedly encountered. I feel this book's syllabus covers such a wide area it is capable of addressing new or refreshing forgotten knowledge gaps of many student's, beyond its initial design. Its so beautifully and carefully composed that I would be surprised if you were unable to find nothing totally new or refreshed by this book, almost independent of the level you may be at the moment.

* Personal areas

The parts that I particularly enjoyed were sections iii, iv, v, or to those without the book 'Definitions, Theorems and Proofs', 'Techniques of Proof', and 'Mathematics that all good mathematicians need'. As this is the stuff that I had understood, but things had become bit rusty. Its has a clear ability to remind the reader that scores with me. Its such a well - designed, helpful and monumentally clear exposition of these vital skills that I read it in 3 days and read for hours totally delighted by the way is written and the pitch its put to help its target audience.

*Summary

Unfortunately, a number of pages from my copy became out of its binding, which is a pity. However, I stapled them together, and with regards of the authors skills I still consider the book as a recommended read and very enjoyable to go over topics in a fresh and entertaining manner.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)