Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2012
Excellent book, certainly helped me to improve my writing for my exam and has a good explanation of normal mistakes that sometimes we do not realise when we write in English.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
This book is quite small (for its price). However, it is divided in around 25 units. Each unit is about a specific grammar point in English. The rule is well and simply explained and followed with short exercises (with correction at the back of the book). After a few units, there is a "global" test with exercises about the specific points just seen. I would say this book can be a good complement (for someone with already a good level in English) but definitely not sufficient to practice or prepare the IELTS.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
I can recommend this book not only as a preparation for IELTS but for every student of English. It gradually builds up in difficulty and brings the most difficult and tricky rules/questions to the point. I'm glad it's not a lengthy book with pages over pages the explaining the same issue until you forgot what you were actually looking for, or where. Perfect companion for IELTS preparation with short and easy to understand explanations!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
OK. 64 A5 pages for £8.50 is, IMO, not good value. This is a booklet rather than a book.
The book is divided into 9 sections each with three subsections which include exercises in the format of the IELTS test. At the end of the section there is a 'test'. The good news is that it is clear and concise. However, students taking IELTS Advanced should not have to be given information about the use of articles and punctuation and really they shouldn't have to be told about common spelling mistakes. These should surely have been part of their general learning. These three things form the first three sections of the book. It then goes on to give us three pages about prepositions (difficult and definitely a problem for students but only three pages?), describing statistics, compare and contrast advice,countable and uncountable/singular and plural (again, at IELTS advanced?) commonly confused nouns (useful), and using nouns and adjectives (probably helpful) and then an answer key. I would say that this is a handy book for teachers doing last-minute revision with their students or for students who are particularly flush and have money to send on any old book. I'm a big fan of the Cambridge IELTS Advanced books and I feel that this book does nothing to enhance what students should be learning from those books.
What this book told me is, that if these are common mistakes at IELTS Advanced then the students sitting the exam weren't properly prepared.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
It is not that small because it is VERY condensed and there is no waist of space as in other language books.

As for the content, it is exactly what students preparing for IELTS Academic need. It is not a textbook on how to take the test. It explains how to say and write correct phrases on IELTS topics. It has very good explanations on the first academic essay (the report). Use of articles and prepositions is explained well too.

Briefly, it is not a study-book that prepares you for exam. But it is very useful as a supplement. Strongly recommended for someone who wants to score at more than 6.5.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
This book is based on the actual mistakes that students commonly make in the IELTS exam, and gives clear guidance on how to avoid them. Its thirty sections are arranged broadly in order of difficulty, with the easiest and most common first. These sections are divided into ten groups, each followed by a revision test: there is also an answer key for all the tests. Each of the sections gives concise guidance on its topic followed by a short exercise to consolidate this.

I have used this to prepare students for the IELTS exam and have generally found it very useful for teaching in conjunction with other study aids. It may not be so useful for self-study, for two reasons. Firstly, there is no introduction or other guidance on how to use this book and, secondly, the brevity of its explanations can lead to misunderstandings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
The book is rather tiny, so that can be a bit of a disapointment. however, some of the units are very effective and the grammar is well explained. i would say that it is certainly a useful book, but maybe a bit overpriced. i'll still recommend it to someone preparing ielts though...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2010
I bought this product and found it very usefull. As by reading this book it corrected many of my mistakes.So anyone who wants to avoid many unknown mistakes must buy this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
Good book, very brief though. It's suitable for anyone who wants to review their English konwledge and test themselves on a wide range of common mistakes, from punctuation to the use of articles.
However, it is very brief and cannot be the only basis on which to reply on when preparaing for the IELTS exam (Academic). Other books need to be taken into account for an accurate and complete preparation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
It's ok, but I expected more about the IELTS exam, not just grammar and exercises. It doesn't talk about the tests, but only the most common errors in grammar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)