Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
41
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2007
This excellent book fills a long-standing, crucial gap in the learning materials available to IELTS students and instructors, and is currently the only book which specifically helps IELTS students in this area. Although the IELTS test doesn't contain a specific grammar module, recognition and appropriate use of grammar is undeniably important for success in the other skills modules. All grammar points needed for IELTS are covered in the book and presented in context through listening (provided on the CD) and self-discovery activities. These activities are especially useful in helping students to learn and remember new grammar. Each unit also provides a rich variety of examples to illustrate the grammar point, as well as clear explanations on usage. In addition, there is a wide range of interesting and motivating practice tasks from the IELTS reading, writing and listening papers, which provide students with plenty of opportunities to develop their skills. This book fully deserves the 5* rating and I highly recommend it to all IELTS students and instructors.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
We all have our different needs as a teacher. I wanted an overview and examples of the whole exam. With this book and the official Exam Examples I needed no other. Excellent materail and guide lines.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
i particularly like that there are listening exercises and interesting texts to read which make it much less dry than Murphy for example, which is very good but hard to get excited about.

It also offers quite good practice exercises for the IELTS exam which include data analysis and academic writing.

It is an ideal book for self study but also as a class book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
useful book.
Excellent to study on your own
reviewing most of the grammar rules you should know.
The book is easy to study and there are a lot of practice to do
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2007
I found this book extremely helpful, along with grammar, it prepared me for listening, reading and writing tasks as well.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
It really give you the important grammar skill for IELTS test,
and also it's a general grammar reference.
I used this book and I get 7 band score in my Ielts exam!!!!
The book is easy to study and there are a lot of practice to do
and also a lot of listening exercises!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Very useful book for English grammar, easy to understand and quite complete. Excellent to study on your own and reviewing most of the grammar rules you should know.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
A very useful book. I used it as a tefl teacher, as I had a private student who wished to study for IELTS, and I found the sections very useful, especially as a first time IELTS teacher. The test at the beginning is pretty thorough, and really helped in structuring grammar revision, as it's directly linked to specific grammar sections in the book. There are enough exercises to mean you don't need to use Murphy's, for example, as most things are covered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
it is ok but does not have enough practice materials for academics. I think it is better for general IELTs
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
It is a good book for IELTS preparation:)And they delivered to me very fast:)
The audio CD accompanied this book is a good idea and approach to train the listening while improving the grammar.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)