Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2017
Good product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2000
With a whole new chapter on pragmatics Yule addresses all the key issues necessary for all English Undergrads. As a first year myself, I found the text extremely easy to follow, simple to understand and a good starting point. It is a necessity to read this if you are studying English and it is well worth buying. Other great books include Aitchinson, Linguistics and Montgomery, Ways of reading.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2007
This book is an amazing read for those wanting to learn about linguistics. It has clear examples and explanations, it covers every topic, from the theories about the origin of the language, phonetics or phonology, on to pragmatics, discourse and the like.

Obviously, it is not a thorough linguistics manual, it is for beginners, so to speak. But there's no better starting point than this. Every concept is introduced with really helpful examples, so it's easy to grasp everything. As an analogy, this is like a "popular science" book: it does not use special vocabulary without introducing it first, it assumes little prior knowledge fromt he reader, etc.

The choice of colour and font is superb as well. It always helps reading the book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2007
I just couldn't put it down until I finished reading this book. This book deals with wide-ranging, complicated issues on linguistics in the plainest English. Well done. It has inspired me, who know little about linguistics, to look further into specific topics that interest me most. If you feel like knowing what's the language all about but don't know where to start, this book is definitely your best choice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2004
i am un undergradtuate at york st john university studying linguistics. i was introduced to this book by a friend and once i started to read it i couldn't put it down. it has brief yet informative chapters on all aspects covered in the field of linguistics and the engish language. it explain difficult topics like semantics and pragmatics in an easy to understand manner without sounding patronising. this book is well worth every penny!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2016
The book covers a wide range of topics and they key points are backed up with plenty of examples, but it sometimes left me feeling as though important bits might have been missed out. The review tasks and study exercises are a nice touch, but I found the writing to be a little dry at times and something of a chore to read. This might be good for total beginners, but I think there are better introductory linguistics texts out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
A great introduction to a lot of concepts in the field of language studies. Helpful for my first year as a student speech & language therapist and will be keeping it as a quick reference in future, though a bit too basic to really help with future exams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
i think it is a very useful book especially for students who are interested in understanding linguistics.indeed a great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
such an easy book to read. good prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Exactly as described, arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)