Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 November 2011
I am not a teacher- I bought this book for my Romanian housemate and friend after it was recommended by the local college. I agree with another reviewer that more exercises which develop a single theme, or 'story', may have made it a little easier for students to use, but there are numerous exercises and nothing is 'left to chance' here. A major problem for students from abroad is the remarkable fluidity of English- it simply refuses to follow its own 'rules'! English picks up bits from many other languages and finds ways to adapt and incorporate them. As a result it is a 'fluid' and ever- developing language that provides many different ways of saying much the same thing. It is this non- prescriptive quality that helps to make English the 'world language', but that is not always helpful to students! On top of that- do, does, don't, did, didn't, will do...how do you slot in words like these, in the correct tense, single or plural? This book does help the reader fathom (there's a perplexing word!) all that out, and then practise it. It is a weighty tome, logically organized and good value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2006
After 20 years of teaching EFL I have to say, this is probably the best grammar book for intermediate students. Clear, concise, yet comprehensive, it doesn't leave anything to chance, giving and explaining alternative answers - and you can be completely confident that you're teaching the 'correct' grammar - which sadly isn't so for all grammar books.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Good price , come in a nice packing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
I liked very much this book, it was over what I expected. I will purchase other books of the same serie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Great product Thank you. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2004
I've just bought the new edition with CD-Rom of the famous grammar book I used to study when I was a university student and I am really impressed about it.
The book has 145 units, on the left pages you have the grammar explanations with useful coloured drawings and on the right pages a series of exercises. The answers are given at the end of the book.
The CD-Rom can be installed onto your computer or just be run without installing the files onto your hard disk, but in both cases the CD-Rom must be in the drive.
The homepage is user-friendly indeed. In the middle you have the exercises menu and around it the function icons. What surprised me a lot was the presence of audiofiles. Once you have completed an exercise, you can even listen to the sentences by clicking on the loudspeaker icon and even record your own voice for comparison.
By holding down CTRL and left-clicking the mouse button on a word, the glossary opens and gives you the explanation of the word you don't know, and if you are connected to the Internet, you can have a look at the Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary online, a dictionary with CD-Rom which I recommend to buy.
You can print all the exercises with or without the answers, have your scores memorized, receive a feedback for each mistake with useful notes on which unit of the grammar book to revise, and you know what? Both teachers and students can create their own tests by a simple click of the mouse! Just click on "Tests" and choose the language areas you like - the software will pick up the sentences for you from the database, after that you are asked to enter the number of questions for your test, from 1 till 25. The topics are those of the main menu, i.e. Present and past, Present perfect and past, Future, Modals, If and wish, Passive, Reported speech, Questions and auxiliary verbs, -ing and the infinitive, Articles and nouns, Pronouns and determiners, Relative clauses, Adjective and adverbs, Conjunctions and prepositions, Prepositions, Phrasal verbs. And of course you can print them.
I'm really happy I bought it - it's really worth the money!
0Comment| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There is no CD-ROM included with ISBN 0521532892.

The book provides the following information:

ISBN 9780521532891 Edition with answers
ISBN 9780521532907 Edition without answers
ISBN 9780521537629 Edition with CD-ROM
ISBN 9780521843119 Hardback Edition with CD-ROM
ISBN 9783125340862 Klett Edition with CD-ROM
ISBN 9783125340848 Klett Edition
ISBN 9780521537605 CD-ROM for Windows
ISBN 9780521537612 Networked CD-ROM

I hope this helps you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2004
The intermediate Murphy book is the book to buy if you're an English teacher. It is well laid out and the grammar rules are explained simply with good examples. One word of caution the exercises are not really designed for the classroom. This grammar book has saved me on countless occasions and most of my colleagues who own this book and will say the same thing.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)