Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2000
The whole series is invaluable to EFL / ESL teachers and students. Strongly recommended for practical use in the classroom and self study for students.
Those new to teaching foreign students will also find this book helpful for improving their own grammar. Exercises in the book can be used in lessons making this book a long-term investment.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Good seller and product
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
one of the best en book ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
Good for my TEFL qualification modules
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Great product Thank you. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2004
Murphy is a classic in TEFL. The students like the way grammar is broken into pieces and made accessible. I have had many students who despised 'grammar' but loved 'Murphy'. Each grammar point is explained using easily understandable examples. There are illustrations to lighten up the entries, but also to clarify situations. Timelines are used throughout the book and there are many useful tables. Every entry consists of two pages. On the left the grammar is explained, on the right, there are exercises for the students.
There is another Murphy for less advanced students. When copying exercises, take care that the book you use for your course material might not teach all the aspects of a point of grammar at the same time.
There is also a third book (not by Murphy) for advanced students. It is different in style, even though it looks similar.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2000
...if it were possible I would have given 10 stars to this book!
The units are perfectly well organized.
It is really a self-study reference and practice book for intermediates, as mentioned on the front cover.
It not only talks about each subject in general, but also gives very many and very illustrative examples. Whenever appropriate, it compares with other grammatical forms.
One more important thing about this book is that it warns you about what "not to say"... This clears all the doubts in your mind about confusing alternatives.
There is also a section about the differences of American English an British English.
I use this book as a reference. I covers almost all the topics in English Grammar. Whenever I feel I need to repeat some subject, I just find the corresponding unit(s) from the contents. Usually there is no need to read all the previous units in order to be able to understand the "unit" that "you need" to study.
What else can I say!
Special thanks to Raymond Murphy and Cambridge University Press for this wonderful product.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
This is the ideal grammar book for basic grammar learning. The book is laid out in an intuitive way and works through all the most relevant aspects of grammar. There is a page per topic with some of the broader topics taking up two or three sections. Each section has a gap-fill exercise next to it and some topics have further gap-fill exercises at the back of the book. It is a useful guide for teachers and can also form the basis for students to work alone. I teach individual learners and it's a nightmare finding suitable books for them as we can't do group or pair work. This book resolves quite a number of those issues and I would strongly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 1999
I teach English to foreign students, they love this book. It is well laid out with lots of examples and exercises. It is part of a series and this (blue) book is best for intermediate students. I also recommend the other (red) book in the series for elementary students ISBN 3-12-533605-8 and the supplementary exercises that go with the series.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2005
I used it a lot for teaching classes and as a self-reference, this book is clear and easy to understand, on top of it there are tons of exercises to practise, which is brilliant.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)