Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2004
This book is packed with ideas for conversation classes. The photocopiable material cuts out on the preparation time. There are hints as how the activities can be adapted to your own class. This book is a helpful companion during lesson preparation. If you ever run out of ideas, there is surely something in there.
The activities are carefully introduced and it is indicated what at what level they are suitable. Some of the activities, however, are overused in EFL teaching.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
I own about 20 or so of the Cambridge Handbooks for Language Teaching and while they all have their own particular strengths and merits, Friederike Klippel's Keep Talking is definitely one of my top three of the series. Both my students (Korean and of all ages) and I have enjoyed and benefited from a considerable number of the activity ideas in Keep Talking.

I've used the activities extensively in both classrooms of thirty and in one-to-one situations with privates. Aside from the sheer number of activities on offer here, a large number of them have supplementary materials included and which are easily photocopied, meaning you can literally select, copy and go.

While it wouldn't be fair to say that the activities in Keep Talking can underpin entire lessons by themselves, what they can do is substantially reinforce a wide range of English grammar points, but with the added benefit of doing so whilst engaging a number of different learning styles, especially visual and (in places) kinesthetic.
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2000
Like me, I am sure their are many teachers out there who are aware of the increasing demands to include 'speaking and listening' into their planning. Then this is the book for you. Not one of those books that you buy and keep on the shelf, but a real workable manual of useful tips and ideas, with photocopiable worksheets and many ideas for lesson planning. It is presented with clarity and accessability in mind. Clear sub-headings include, aims, level, organisation, time procedure and variations in all suggested activities. If you are looking for ways to stimulate children in the classroom and keep in mind your time mangagement, then this is a 'must buy'.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2011
Well, I bought this book just a few days ago, and I must say it is invaluable indeed! The range of the activities included is extremely wide and explained in great detail. I very much feel that I'll be consulting it before every single lesson. The only problem is that, due to the variety of suggestions, I am going to have trouble choosing! Many thanx to the author! This is exactly what both teachers and students of a foreign language need!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Good book, perfect condition and quick delivery. Many good ideas in the book, especially for teenagers and young adults. I have used several ideas and the students loved the lessons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
This is geared more to groups and whole classes. Some can be adapted for 1-1 but lose the aim
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
I'm really satisfied with everything from delivery speed to the actually received item :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
will dip in to this when need ideas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
Found Keep Talking very useful and inspiring for teaching English in West Africa where internet connection is poor and other resources difficult to access. This book has lots of activities and ideas which can be adapted easily for local conditions.
If you re travelling theres limits on what you can carry and I think this book, which has lots of photocopiable resources is an excellent buy.
My students responded very well to three activities in particular.
I would say its aimed more at adult learners rather than children.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
A good book to have to refer to when preparing lessons and you don't want to reinvent the wheel. Lots of good ideas. Use it like a pick 'n' mix. Pick what you like, mix with the rest of your teaching.
You may have to tweak things for your own classes - like all books of activities - but not too much.Great resource and money well spent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)