Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2017
Big weighty book with a decent translation of Auguste Escoffier's techniques and recipes. The book itself, paper and font and cover is cheap and cheerful. The units as stated in the intro are all American so a bit difficult to use in anger for a Brit in the kitchen. The book is great to read as an intro to Escoffier, whilst actually following the techniques is probably better from alternative derivative publications. Look out for two excellent little books which are an extract of this book, one called "Stocks, Sauces and Garnishes (Escoffier kitchen handbooks) Escoffier kitchen handbooks" and the other "Hors d'Oeuvre (Escoffier kitchen handbooks) Escoffier kitchen handbooks". Worth having as a reference, but I doubt very much if this book will ever accompany me to the kitchen!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
This is a fantastic book with thousands of recipies and full of inspiring information. However, little did i know it was in an American translation and therefore, difficult to get my head around the concept of the measured units and terms. i.e. conrstartch and quarts. I was looking for an English translation which it had stated in the product information section. Although it is a fantastic resource for any American chef to have. Its truly the holy grail of all cookbooks, and the must have bible of all chefs in the industry.
33 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
Wow! I think every professional chef should have it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 1998
This book, published in the 1890s, is an excellent resource for those who aspire to cook great french food. Too often cookbook authors insult readers by leaving out key steps for fear that they may be 'too complicated' or call for veal stock when chefs use demi-glace. This book is complicated, poorly organized and difficult, but it WILL tell you the proper way to make french sauces (an incredible section, and well worth the price of the book in itself) and how best to lard a joint of beef. Treat yourself and buy this book to learn the proper way to prepare traditional french cuisine.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 1999
I'm a Chef, and have borrowed copies of Escoffier's Le Guide Culinaire from friends whenever I need it. On a lark, I ran a search on Escoffier here at Amazon.com. I was stunned to find this book for the low cost of $12 or so, knowing that every other copy I had seen cost $60 or $70. So I ordered it and paged through it. Well, it only prints 2300 or so of over 5000 recipes in Escoffier's treatise. Admittedly, probably more than the home cook actually *needs*, but nowhere does the book say that it has been abridged.
But, like many Amazon.com customers, I found myself in the position of thinking "but it'll cost me half the price of the book to send it back." So I wound up giving it to a friend who likes to cook, but doesn't need the "real thing."
Suffice it to say that if you want the real Esoffier, you're still going to have to drop the $60+ for the Van Nostrand Reinhold edition. Sorry, culinary students, you didn't luck up on a deal.
ToqueBlanc
11 Comment| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
A very good book content wise but produced on abysmal quality paper, the pages are uncomfortable to turn.
Whether this is to give a feel of authenticity to a work of true art is possible, though barely creditable.

So why the marks? - content must be in a cloud beyond ours, the American terminology though fatuous at times does not diminish the works and if that was the hands of the translator then good for you for your efforts!

Back on to my main topic - why cheapen a book for a few pence (cents!) of paper - a mystery to me?

But it it is still a gem!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
first of all, i want to thank the very nice american lady, Blanche i believe, who donated this book to a charity in the USA, i bought it from them in pretty good condition at a very reasonable price.
known throughout the world auguste Escoffier revelotionised cooking to such an extent that he effectively created the manual for restuarants from the inception of this book. he it was that gave all his staff a uniform with hats, so that they didnt have to wear their own clothes in the kitchen, he organised them into teams, brigades they call them, and appointed head chefs for the different skills. the recipes are amazing, if however also daunting. one recipe i saw as i was flicking through prior to giving it as a present to my girlfriend, had a requisite for 36 gallons of boiling water and vast quantities of ingredients, but this was for a restaurant, not a dinner for two in a home kitchen. if you can scale it down, then i'm sure it will taste just as fine. many other recipes call for the use of previous recipes results, so, you would use a sauce from the book in another recipe within the book.
that being said the food is pretty awesome. no self respecting professional chef should be without a copy, and if its good enough for the business, it should be good enough for my modest kitchen. one word of warning. dont buy this if you just want a recipe book. do buy if you intend to improve your cooking skills / techniques. it oulines the basic skills used for most modern recipes. as a last word i could say that the masterchef bible wold be a more modern and perhaps useful addition to most peoples kitchen since it has photo montage cookery classes which again will teach you cooking skills, but much more fitting to a home kitchen.
still and all this was a wonderful addition to our cookery book shelves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2016
Brilliant, though difficult to follow the recipes as the knowledge of cooking has to be quite advanced. A great read anyway, for instance to make a turtle soup: "…take a turtle weighing from 120 to 180 lbs.,…"; easily found at your local supermarket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Bought for my boyfriend who's a chef and always wanted a copy as contain everything! Great book for those aspiring chefs. Recipes classic and should be in every chefs repitoire
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
great book for anyone wanting to take their cookery to the next level I bought this book after watching Michel Roux Jr he did a documentery on the great man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)