Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
20
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2017
Known as something of a womaniser and it known that a good number of the waifs and strays are his, he shows them his own manner of caring and love, he is also very kind and chivalrous to ladies in need.
He comes across Linet De Montfort and takes it upon himself to protect her, he sees himself as a knight in shining armour, as always his heart is in the right place and although sometimes he expresses and shows his feelings in what are sometimes very clumsy manner.
Sir Duncan hides his true identity and as the relationship between himself and Linnet starts to flourish he very carefully hides his true worth, he wants a\ woman than loves and cares for him on his own merits and not because he is a wealthy, titled individual. He also has quite the reputation of loving and leaving so she has to take all this into context to aid her in her decision to remain with him or not.
This was not the typical knight rescuing a damsel in distress, the story was very engaging the characters were independent and they were both very reluctant to jump into any unknown situation.
This book was a very good read I enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it to anyone contemplating reading this book, it holds you attention and leaves you guessing!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
This book definitely deserves a 5*+++++ rating - it's entertaining, intriguing, funny, and captures your imagination from the first page - it is definitely the best book I have read for a very long time and I now look forward to reading more from this exceptional author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
The heroine was totally dense at times and had she been in front of me I would have slapped her. This was a testament to how well the character Linet, was written. The by play was amusing and I laughed out loud when the servant, Margaret nearly brained the hero with a cooking pot.
There were plenty of twists and turns with more action than usual in a romance. A very enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Really enjoyed this book. Captivating story that had me laughing , cringing at the antics she got her self in, from being captured , and to her dismay falling in love with a commoner. With all good love stories, love finds a way ♡
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
My champion knight
this was a readable book .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Overlong and repetitive this story could be told in less than half the pages. I read this as part of a box set download of ten books many of which are the first of a series. If this is the taster I won't be consuming anymore of Ms Campbells's offerings. I hope the other nine are better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2003
The blurb promises a great Medieval romp as the eldest of the De Ware sons, Duncan, fixes his sights on Linet De Montford as she publicly humiliates the Spanish Reiver that previously robbed her father of precious cargo. From that moment on, Duncan decides to become her bodyguard, whether she likes it or not, and brave and chivilrous as any reader would want their Knights to be, it was this factor that began to irritate very very early on in the book.
Though Duncan De Ware is heir to a small empire of estates and fortune, he obviously has nothing better to do than disguise himself in rags and stalk a woman who protests his constant presence with flagrant insults every half page! There is no doubt about it, she can't stand the sight of him ! What ensues is constant bickering (for page after page after page...): Linet telling Duncan to leave her alone, and Duncan telling Linet that he will not because he believes she needs his protection and HE knows best!
AAaaaaaggghhh!!!
And then of course, rather predictably, Duncan is proved right because, (yes you've guessed it), she DOES need his protection when the Spanish Reiver decides to get his revenge!
Campbell writes this book with great humour, but this verges, more often than not, on the slapstick which robs the book of any authentic Medieval flavour. There was little to laugh about in Medieval England; it was a dark, grim, troubled yet fascinating period in history. Yet Campbell conveys none of this through either her characters or their surroundings - even the speech feels distinctly contemporary.
I've no doubt that Glynnis Campbell would write a great contemporary romance, and if you are looking for a book with a basic style of writing, a light hearted, uncomplicated plot, then you may enjoy this book. But if you, like me, are looking for a sexy romance with real, multi-faceted characters, with an earthy, authentic slice of Medieval life then look up Roberta gellis or Marsha Canham instead.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
***Spoilers***

Sir Duncan de Ware, the eldest of three brothers and his father's heir, comes from a noble family and he has a tender heart, especially toward the helpless and women. He's a womanizer to the max and there are parts of the book I couldn't quite get past. Call me a prude, whatever, but from the beginning pages, Duncan gathers his "waifs" around him to tell them stories, etc., and it's clear that many of them are his bastard children - they have his eyes and his hair. But... he doesn't know for sure which ones are his - he considers them all his. Of course, that's good in some respects because it shows a certain type of love toward poor children in general.

So, we're off to a rip roaring start. Later on in the book, it's made very clear that he beds widows, light skirts and even virgins, but never unless there's love involved. So, he's apparently "loved" dozens and dozens of women. I can't recall that the book indicates his age, but I would assume under 30 years old. Yes, he's had quite the active "love" life. Don't misunderstand - this story limits him to the love of one woman - Linet. I'm referring to his shady past relative to the bastard children.

When he comes across maiden-in-distress, Linet de Montfort, he takes it upon himself to become her protector (not as in lover) even though she doesn't want him to act on her behalf. For quite some time, it seems as though he contributes to some of her problems - he's a great knight, but sometimes he comes across as clumsy for some reason. But, his heart is in the right place and in fact, while traveling with Linet, he was very honorable. The fact he was in the role of a beggar during the entire book until the end, contributed to her standoffishness toward him because of how she had been taught by her aristocratic father.

Duncan doesn't want to reveal his true identity because he wants Linet to love him for the man he is, as opposed to his social position and wealth. Parts of this book I liked, but the fact he wasn't discriminating about where he planted his seed and probably had many more bastards than he was taking care of, ruined the book for me. Yes, I guess I am a prude. So be it. My heroes don't go about the countryside having relations with every woman they come across, leaving sweet illegitimate children to potentially starve.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
I love medieval novels and looked forward to this trilogy. For some reason I read book two first, the story of Holden De Ware and Cambria. This was well written, great hero and feisty heroine. Then I came back to book one - oh dear. Whether you agree with Duncan's activities going under cover dressed as a beggar and putting his life in danger when he was heir to his father's title is one issue. The other is how he survived the kind of physical abuse he was subjected to throughout the book and also why anyone in their right mind would pursue such a stupid woman! If I had a pound for every time she reminded him of her status in life and how lowly he was I'd be very rich. It became totally irritating. Also I found I did not like her very much and at the end when he was bestowing all sorts of wealth on her and treating her like some prized possession I wanted to laugh out loud. If I was him I would have pushed her in the moat! Sorry this was not one of Glynis Campbell's better books. Am currently on the third book about Garth De Ware and this, like book two is much better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here