Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 1999
In 1511, when her beloved sister Raven dies in a drowning accident, seventeen year old Arianna deeply mourns her loss even as she feels guilty for surviving. She no longer cares about how the villagers perceive her. Only the intervention of Nicodimus saves her life and that of her parents.

Over seven hundred years ago, Nicodimus abducted a willing Anya, sister of abusive brothers (Marten and Kohl), who vow vengeance. Nicodimus became an Immortal through the Light by rescuing an endangered High Witch. Anya's siblings converted into Immortals through the Dark by stealing the hearts of High Witches. In the same year he rescues Arianna, Nicodimus kills Kohl, removing and burning the man's heart. However, Marten captures Arianna. When Nicodimus comes to rescue her, treachery occurs and Nicodimus loses his heart. An enraged Arianna escapes, but lives by herself for several centuries until the present where she now has the knowledge to bring her beloved back to life. If she succeeds in returning her beloved from his deep sleep, will he hate her because he believes she is a traitor?

INFINITY is a superb fantasy romance that readers of both genres will enjoy. The story line, especially the historical segment, is stupendous as the witch species seems genuine due to the talent of Maggie Shayne. Nicodimus is a wonderful hero and the support cast adds dimension while propelling the tale forward to its exciting climax. However, this novel belongs to Arianna. As a teenager just coming into her powers without proper guidance, she will remind the audience of some of the athletes who overnight go from food stamps to millions. Ms. Shayne augments her growing reputation for some of the best fantasies on the market today.
Harriet Klausner
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Have read the first in the set also and the second does not disappoint either. Would recommend reading if you enjoy romance with extras.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Amazing!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
"Infinity" is the follow-up to "Eternity" and it features Arianna, who featured in the previous book, although the first person narrative is that of Nicodimus Lachlan, an Immortal High Witch whose wife and children died back in the 700s and from which loss he has never recovered. When Nicodimus returns to the village of Stonehaven in Scotland he realises that the young girl of fourteen he saw last time, Arianna, has grown to be a very independent woman on the cusp of her eighteenth birthday. She is also in a great deal of trouble with the other villagers suspicious of her as she spends time with the three women known as The Crones, who are thought to be witches, and some of Arianna's own behaviour is unusual. She is supposed to be betrothed to a local boy but refuses to submit and her family life is difficult since the death of her sister, Raven, some years before.

Nicodimus finds himself intervening a little, trying to warn Arianna to be careful but realising that her personality means that she feels like a free spirit. When frightening events take place in the village they end up betrothed, for her safety, and in due course married. But Nicodimus doesn't want to feel love again and Arianna doesn't yet know of her future as an Immortal High Witch. Before long the problems that have dogged Nicodimus throughout his long life come to find him at Stonehaven and Arianna is dragged into them, along with other villagers and another Immortal High Witch, Nidaba, who has been a friend to Nicodimus his whole life.

This story, like "Eternity", is in two parts, separated by hundreds of years. There is a short chapter which overlaps events in "Eternity" where Arianna and Raven free the hearts of trapped High Witches and Arianna believes one is that of Nicodimus who was imprisoned by Nathanial Dearborne hundreds of years before. However when Arianna is able to reunited Nicodimus's heart with his body he remembers her as his enemy, not his wife. This part of the story actually felt rather rushed and the happy ever after ending came perhaps too quickly, along with a revelation about Nidaba which I hadn't expected.

"Infinity" is a reasonable read and Arianna is certainly an interesting character, although one who tends to rush headlong into things and not consider others' opinions, finding it acceptable to lie to get her own way, and so she wasn't always appealing. However their love story felt tender, although I wasn't entirely sure what Nicodimus saw in her. Again, there is a high emphasis on new-agey mysticism and a negative view of Christianity in this story but it's an interesting read, not least in that it reminds us of the witch hunting trials and many of the awful things that were done at that time to those who were different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
This is the second book in Maggie Shayne's "Witch" series. I didn't think the back cover's description of this book did it justice. It sounded very boring, and I was just going to read it because Ms. Shayne is one of my top favorite authors. I should have known that it would have been excellent! Ms. Shayne writes everything well! I read this so long ago that I don't remember the particulars of the plot. I just remember that the witch series sounded very boring, but turned out to be a lot of fun, and I just loved every one of them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
My first question is why haven't not heard of Maggie Shayne before a few days ago?! I haven not been able to put the book down.
Somehow I managed to love this as much, if not a bit more than the first in the series.
If you are questioning buying these books DON'T just do it, you won't regret it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
For me the sign of a good book is when you become so absorbed in it that you almost forget you are reading, it instead feels that you are watching events as they happen. This is not a good book but a fantastic one. The whole series of them are fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
A very good follow up to Eternity with plenty of excitement and a strong story line. Very enjoyable and the author closed off with an acceptable ending. Definetly a stand alone book but better if you've read book 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
This author writes some incredibly enjoyable stories and this final of the three in the mini series was another great read. As with the first 2 books I was unable to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
I feel the first book was more enjoyable this one though well written lacked pace with not that much happening. I feel the characters never really came alive for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here