Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 13 September 2015
As an emerging artist thinking about how I want to set up my own studio this book provides all the clues and landmarks to make my important decisions. Sometimes it veers off track and the interviewer(s) seem be preoccupied with a different agenda but trust the artists themselves to steer things back to the importance of the studio as sanctuary, a place to be quiet and think and create without distractions. My favourite quote in this respect and one that sums it all up is Howard Hodgkin who says of his studio 'I don't think of it as a luxury; I think it is a necessity'. This is a seriously heavy coffee table tome packed with luscious photographs and equally weighty insights. Recommended for those who want to poke their noses into the whole creative process of 38 artists, to see that where it all takes place and to find out that this can be as varied as the stars in the heavens.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Great photos and brilliant idea for a book.
Have only flicked through it so far but just simply love having it.
As an artist myself, with a studio that I am so often alone in, owning this book helps me remember ....I am not alone! ;-)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
'Sanctuary' is a lovely book on many levels. As an Artist I find it inspiring to see how other artists organise their work spaces: it prompted me to thoroughly sort out my own studio. The delivery was prompt with comforting tracking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
Sanctuary Britains Artists and their Studios is one heavyweight of an art book. The book weighs in at nearly six hundred pages and covers a wide range of British artists from Auerbach to Emin. To mention every artist and good point about this book would take forever. It is very comprehensive, so will stay fresh for a long time as the reader endeavours to read each profile over sometime. Some lesser known artists are given two pages, whereas the more established or infamous artists such as Tracey Emin are allowed several double page spreads.

Of course before even opening the book you know there will be some reference to the studios of Francis Bacon and Lucian Freud. Although only recent they now feel like distant historical figures in the art game. Some of my favourite artist profiles in this book include Frank Auerbach, Maggi Hambling, Gary Hume, Marc Quinn, Ron Arad, Gavin Turk and Sarah Lucas. Funny enough Auerbach's studio isn't shown in the book, yet you will understand why when you read his profile. Artists can be quite secretive about their working methods and the studio. As an artist myself I understand that the studio space is precious.

The beauty of this book is that we get to read about the day to day routines of the artists, their working methods and current activities. What is a little shocking is the passing of time and the YBA's of the 90's. Many still feature in this book, although much older than when they were last in the public eye. Perhaps they are a symptom of the growing celebrity youth culture in the art world, yet artists just don't do Botox so much.

The book will suffer a little from the passing of time, hence what was up to date in 2011 may not be in a few years. Yet the book is still a time capsule of British art in 2011/2012. Sanctuary is a beautifully put together book with fantastic photography. Currently superb value at Amazon.
22 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Strangely disappointing - none of the excitement of Private View (1965) by Snowden et al. The pictures have a uniformity that seems to say more about the photographer's vision than the artists' differences whilst the interview questions often feel stilted and leave the replies seeming forced. Little of the richness that comes from entering real studios. It's good value in terms of quantity however with lots to browse but ultimately I gained little insight.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
Fabulous book. Exploring the work spaces and practices of top British artists. The photography is terrific giving me the opportunity to be both nosey and envious of the large space most of them have to work in. Interesting questions have been posed to the artist giving an insight into the thought processes of their work.
It will be keeping me entertained for months, possibly years not to mention fit! It is a large heavy book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
this is a beautiful book, really interesting to glean a small insight about the people behind the work. the only reason i haven't given this book 5* rating is that it's MASSIVE and heavy, which makes it difficult to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Great price. Quick service. Heavy book but best present bought for artist. It's the book to always have around. Well written and great illustrations. You couldn't be disappointed with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
This was a present for my art student daughter who found it fascinating to see how other artists approach their practice and their workspace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Pure inspiration for both artists and art lovers, seeing how other artists work is very satisfying and shows the diversity of art
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)