Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2001
This is a rather small, but hugely detailed, description of most current practice in craft bookbinding. There are better texts on the history and development of bookbinding, and there are a few recent techniques that aren't mentioned, but if you wish to learn bookbinding then this is the place to start.
As other reviewers have noted, it's not a "home craft" book (or at least, only for the very serious). This is a book for students (in any sense of the word) who are prepared to put serious effort into learning a craft.
The text style, and the quality and degree of illustration, is excellent. This is just how a teaching manual for a craft technique should be written and produced.
I'd like to have seen a few more colour plates, just for inspiration - but this is very much a grubby-covered workshop book, not a coffee table showcase.
A layflat binding would be nice too, if there's a future edition
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Johnson's text is an excellent introduction going into detail. I borrowed the new Print on Demand edition from the library and was appalled at the overall shoddy and poor feel to (reproductions are less clear and the perfect binding wouldn't support much workshop handling) it so I went and bought an old edition which is the real deal. An excellent book but be advised that the new POD edition does author and reader a disservice.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
It's a great book for those new to bookbinding but taking it seriously. However the version supplied is not as described, but is a 'Print on Demand' version with relatively poor print quality and the colour plates printed in black & white. I'm immediately returning my copy and have ordered a 'normal' version elsewhere.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2001
This is not a "home craft" book. It is a book for serious students of bookbinding. It comprehensively covers the subject in technical terms, but unfortunately will most likely leave a new comer to the bookbinding no wiser.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
This is a comprehensive guide to bookbinding, written by a professional for intermediate to advanced bookbinders. It is an invaluable reference book, with very practical instructions for every level of work.Although everything is covered, basic techniques are best learned by direct observation and involvement in a class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2011
Im Currently studying archive conservation throught the Archive and Records assocation. This book is on our reading list and is used by one of the instructors as a course book for bookbinding. It realy is a brilliant book and easy to use, espaly when you just cant rember what the next step is. I would recomend it however it would not be easy to just use this or any book as a way of lerning bookbinding.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Has been on my wish list for some time - so glad I now have it as part of my reference library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
The ideal present for someone intending to undertake bookbinding, particularly for someone hoping to take a course in this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Well written and comprehensive guide to book binding for the novice and more advanced enthusiast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Exactly as seller described.....would use again, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)