Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The book is nicely illustrated by photos of paper sculptures but the quality of the writing of the tales is less commendable. Each tale is told, almost in a summative style - "this is what happened" - rather than emotionally engaging. This does mean it is readable by a child but will it enhance their joy of reading?
I rather surmise this book might be a proposal to an animation company - make movie shorts using paper sculptures on these fairytales (I remember silhouette shorts in the 1950's which were dramatic and extremely watchable). If such movies were to be made, then this book would be more desirable.

Above is the impression it made on me. But, since handing it to my 7 1/2 year old niece, her feedback is much more positive and she loves it. She likes to read to her grandma and spends ages examining the pictures. This is what a book is supposed to do - engage the reader - so I am marking more positively.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Wonderful, magical book. The artwork is fascinating, the stories beautifully written. In terms of age, not sure if aimed at teens/ adults really.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Beautiful book of classic stories. Purchased this book several times for birthday presents for little girls. Wonderful book. Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 January 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Seven classic fairytales featuring princesses are smoothly retold by Wendy Jones: Cinderella; The Frog Prince; The Twelve Dancing Princesses; The Princess and the Pea; Snow White; Rapunzel and Sleeping Beauty. The book itself is large and satisfying, pictures on every page, each fairytale is of an ideal bedtime story length, not too long or too short. But the real star is Su Blackwells beautifully created and photographed paper sculptures. From one book a wave filled lake emerges in the Twelve Dancing Princesses, a castle rises from the opposite page, tiny paper boats float on the lake and delicate trees surround it. Snow White flees from the huntsman through the trees that rise out of another book, from a third a princess lifts a frog from a well. Enchanting
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a complete delight-rather unexpected as each page is beautifully created and the photography and lovely paper folded buildings are a joy-well done!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Superb imagery laid out in colourful sections. Lovely interpretations of the old fairy stories. Wonderful insight to the artists work and imagination.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Fairytale Princess is a handsome and substantial book. The quality of the binding and paper is excellent and I would feel quite happy to give this as a gift - you certainly won't look like you cheaped out. However, the question is, who would you give it to?

As other reviewers have said, there are NO pop-ups in this book, despite what the photos imply. What you have are photos of 3d models made from printed pages. No doubt, these images and the models are beautiful, but young children won't appreciate the pictures as much as grown-ups. The stories are, of course, classics but if you're buying it for very young children, there are better alternatives. While I quite like fairy tales and find they can be more than appropriate for an adult audience (especially the darker tellings of Grimm Bros and Arabian Nights tales), this book doesn't give you that.

So, while a beautiful book, I don't know who it would appeal to. Not kids, not grown-ups.

I wouldn't discourage anyone from buying this book, but I can't recommend it either as I just don't know who its target market is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
This was bought as a present for an adult because of the fabulous paper sculptures which are used to illustrate the stories. This book is simply beautiful and the stunning pictures bring the fairy tales to life. It really is worth buying for the photographs alone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
I read a recent review of Su Blackwell's exhibition and was delighted to find her book available. I must admit, although I bought it for a friend with children hoping it would be kept as a classic, I've enjoyed reading it myself and marvelling at such expertise and creativity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Fairytale Princess incorporates seven classic fairy stories: Cinderella, The Frog Prince, The Twelve Dancing Princesses, The Princess and the Pea, Snow White, Rapunzel and Sleeping Beauty. Su Blackwell's incredible paper sculptures, made from old books, illustrate the stories and they really are incredible! Castles, trees, shimmering lakes are all stunningly depicted with a careful use of light making this a memorable book.

Not quite so memorable were the retellings of the classic tales which have been shortened and sanitised to such an extent that I can imagine, `But Mummy, WHAT did the other fairy godmothers give to Cinderella?' etc being a regular punctuation throughout their story time! The stories also end with marriage and `happy ever after' in every case, so they become a little repetitive. Having said that, the tales are a perfect length for a bedtime story taking approximately ten minutes each to read.

I would recommend this book but mostly because of the illustrations which are magnificent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse