Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 December 2015
a beautiful book if you love the Bloomsbury group and cooking!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
This book is amazing. Its somewhere between an academic piece, a story and a recipe book. I'm familiar with many of the places featured in the book as I work in Lewes and visit Charleston, Glyndebourne, etc now & then. This book brings the Bloomsbury set to life, plus I'm enjoying the recipes - which translate well to the modern age. Marinated beef fillet recipe is excellent. This book can be dipped in and out of, very interesting reading - a brilliant achievement to have researched and created such a treasure.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Dora Carrington was a good shot.' If you can stomach this kind of thing.. The art is heroically feeble, the subtitle fatuous, the company self-regarding and childish and the recipes no doubt excellent. The lifeless Cressida Bell dustjacket will surely never make it as far as the paperback. Having said that, of course it will. The back cover, wooden spoons in a jar, is marginally better - and how awfully apt! My poor insular native land.. Can you imagine The Existentialist Cookbook?
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
This book was far better than I ever expected. It is part cookbook with recipes, but also part biography, artbook and social history. I loved to read about the different members of Bloomsbury and what they liked to eat. The story is enriched with anecdotes and references from the novels they wrote or their letters.
The book is beautifully illustrated with photographs and paintings, the whole book looks very beautiful.
In short, this is one of the best non-fiction books I own.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Delighted with this very beautiful book, lovely illustrations and interesting text and recipes. Would definitely recommend this book to any Bloomsbury Set lovers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
A beautiful Book , lovely to look at and fascinating to read . Have recommended it to several friends , who also love Charleston
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
A treasure of a book to dip into time and time again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
beautiful book , more than just a cook book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Thank you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
I love this bok .Full of interesting information and great recipes .I comforting book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)