Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 16 March 2015
Evidence that fascination with a subject can come from nothing more than an expertly written yet widely accessible book filled with a wonder of photos and information.
In several, broad ranging chapters Turner covers the history of Taxidermy, various fads and phases (the good and bad) through to the modern place for taxidermy in fashion, art and the home. These are engagingly written, highlights rather than in depth essays but full of wonder and insight.
The book is 80% photos, which is reasonable considering the subject is a visual one and the quality of those are very good. It's a book you can spend time with again and again and is certainly a conversation point if anyone spots it on the "coffee table". Just beware what they might be thinking of for your next birthday present ...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2013
The author, founder of London Taxidermy, is one of the people who made taxidermy fashionable again. The texts with the background information make this more than just a coffee table book. As a frequent visitor of Natural History Museums, I still find that the attraction of a 'stuffed animal' is stronger than any digital display. I realised this after a visit to Deyrolle in Paris, another world famous taxidermy firm. Browsing through this book is the closest you can get to 'the real thing'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2014
The photographs do not do this book justice it is just stunning, i do not want to hide it away on a book shelf. Its is done to a really high standard and beautiful photographs though out and covers my different areas of taxidermy. It talks more about how taxidermy was and is used rather than being a how to guide. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 December 2013
Have had a look at this book, as part of our gifts, for our son-in-law's Christmas and delighted with the book itself; beautiful quality and binding excellent. Contents look very interesting. Delivery and packaging, as Amazon's high standard is expected and it was delivered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2014
This is a fantastic and quirky book about taxidermy, which completely subverts the idea that this art form is exclusively for stuffy old men (pun intended, sorry...). A great "coffee table" book and beautifully illustrated. I've dropped one star because of a mild formatting niggle, namely the problem of pictures getting half swallowed in the crease, (especially on the double page spreads).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2013
Beautiful book, makes a great present or coffee table book
Beautiful photos throughout
Great service, would highly recommend this product
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2014
A beautifully presented tome, lavishly illustrated, and very informative. From Victorian displays to modern pieces of quirky art, the history of the craft was eloquently laid out. Very good value for money too.I urge anyone who has an interest in this subject to get themselves a copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2013
This is a beautiful book, even better than i imagined, excellent quality and very good value for money, I would highly recommend. I purchased this as a gift for a friend and I know they will love it. Beautiful pictures throughout. This book arrived quickly and in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
Most fantastic pictures , best book ever, "the must have"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2013
I bought as a present and the recipient was very pleased
there's nothing else left for me to say though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)