Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2013
Great purchase!
wonderful images rich in colour and detail, a true feast for the eyes. Each house comes with its own amazing life story or biography, which really explains what an amazing past and present Scotland has.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
I bought this book because of the inclusion of Dumfries House. It has some wonderful photographs and the only reason i marked it down is because I would have liked more text. However, it is a beautifully produced book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
The quality photographs and reproduction draw you in and create the atmosphere. Hope to be able to complete my visitation to all the houses listed. Can we have a second edition and more of Scotland's houses?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
The quality and content of this book is exceptional. I bought it for a gift but want to keep it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Wonderful photos and lots of nice highlights from the author who writes succinctly and with much of great interest about the houses, families, histories and chattels.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Lovely book with outstanding photos. I am biased as our own house Arniston is in it. The author and photographer really have a feel for historic houses and were a pleasure to work with. I sent a copy to a friend in Malayasia and NZ. It is expensive but if you love Scotland and its heritage you will be making an investment which will be enjoyed by generations of your family. Read on and come and visit our lovely Scotland
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I was delighted with this book when it arrived. It was a brand new copy at an excellent price. However, the book itself was much nicer than I expected. Beautiful photographs and interesting and informative text. We tend sometimes to forget that not all the lovely country houses are "south of the border" in England. The Scottish houses are equally beautiful and have their own unique style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
A lovely lavish book with excellent photographs that really capture the essence and feel of these wonderful houses. A real treat for architecture and interior design fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Yes, ravishing photographs, glossily and heavily produced and nice to look at. But whichever previous reviewer described it as 'erudite' must be more interested in Scottish aristocratic families than I am. There's nothing about architectural history and interior design, so if you're interested in either of those, forget it - and actually there's actually very little text-as-opposed to-pretty-pictures. There are no footnotes and the bibliography is derisory. Another of those, pretty to look at but that's all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
This is a magnificent book, more than a coffee table extravagance, sure to send many on a trip to Scotland in pursuit of such houses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)