Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2017
A beautiful and comprehensive book with lovely photographs and detailed research - offering a good cross section of design, craft and manufacturing across cultures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
A wonderful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
A serious, must have book for anyone who is interested in textile art, covering historical and contemporary work.This is a huge coffee table book filled with fabulous images with well written and informative text.It's a very useful resource and a pleasure to flick through.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
In my opinion of the most beautiful books to be published in 2012.
A book to leaf through for endless inspiration, love it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2016
This is a beautiful book to see and touch but for me a great disappointment. I hoped for a good , clear information regarding the history of textiles. Instead it is a mishmash of information with stress on the modern , and a lot of reference to other authors. Overall a book directed to specialists not a reader trying to learn something about textiles. To me unreadable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
A splendid book, well-researched and beautifully illustrated. Something to treasure....and to dip into, not really to read in one sitting. The project is ambitious - examining the history of textiles from the earliest times up to the present.Some of the discussion is about whether textiles count as 'art' or 'craft' - a dilemma that will probably never be fully resolved. The illustrations depict textiles from all over the world, from all periods of history, and the text examines mutual developments, and the influence of cultures on each other. It discusses various types of fibre and how they are used...silk, wool, linen, synthetic fibres and so on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
A beautifully produced, HUGE book with fantastic illustrations on every page. An amazing resource for anyone inspired by arts and textiles.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
A book suitable for just browsing or for the craftsperson a source of inspiration. Keep it beside you - it is too heavy to carry far and just keep looking. If you don't want to read the text the photographs tell you all you could wish to know. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I am thrilled to bits with this book as I am in it.I loved the pictures and text.Beautiful pictures and references to the artist at the back.Is a must for any fine art textile student with historical and contemporary contextual references.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
What can I say? This book is beautiful, from the vey tactile cover, to the inspirational photographs of textiles within. An absolute gem of a book which I just had to own!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)