Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
38
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2010
Many years ago, Peter Barry was a student of mine on the Watford Creative Ad Course .
He was always attentive. Always making notes. He was as alert as a fox on the run.

Peter was incredibly enthusiastic on the processes of lateral strategic thinking.

He would love talking about creativity and rationalising on how the creative mind cracks marketing problems.

It's great to see his thoughts published in this easy to use and highly enjoyable book.

Many of my graduates could write a book on creative advertising but I don't think any of them could produce a book that was so incisive, enlightening and practical.

This is simply the best book any aspiring advertising creative can buy.

Tony Cullingham. Tutor/Leader Watford Creative Ad Course.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
really great read, no nonsense, no jargon, a real help with my current advertising unit at uni. Big and chunky, definitely got my moneys worth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
An excellent book that shows the development of advertising ideas from concept scribble to final ad. OK, so it's a retroactive conceit, but bone the less effective. A great way to refresh your mind if you have anything to do with creating ideas - and not just for advertising.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
I'm not in advertising, I'm in PR and I'm finding this very valuable. I wouldn't say it provides answers, but it gives you the thought process that will lead to the answers. My only complaint is I wish they used a slightly darker font.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
An excellent survey approach to both modern advertising campaigns and the components that make them work. Long read, great reference material, and very inspiring! One of the best advertising books I've found!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2017
Excellent introduction to all major advertising concepts. The sketched (or 'scamped') illustrations help to illuminate the thinking behind the campaigns, which is much more helpful than being shown the final glossy ads. I'm a creative copywriter working in advertising for a few years, but I've also seen this book on the desk of senior design colleagues who have been in the industry for ten years or more, showing that it's still relevant for even the very experienced and is the type of book you'll come back to again and again, so is worth the money. An insightful, refreshing and trendy read. Looks great on your desk too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
This book has helped working both with copywriting and art directing. It gives you many good tips and tricks for how to write headlines, create campaigns and working in different media.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
As an advertising student i found the book amazing. Current and inspirational. Context is perfect and steers away from conformist text books while remaining relevant and relatable
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
The author seems to have used 'reconstructed' crreative scamps rather than actula work in progress, which I think would have been more useful - if difficult to achieve.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
Wonderful, highly informative book with plenty of aspects to consider when creating an advert. This is a book I would highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here