Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2012
I am very happy with this purchase.
Its a beautiful big book, I really love the unconventional squareish format, it feels nice to hold.
Paper quality is great, every time I turn a page it feels like I grabbed two pages by mistake its that thick.
The content is great Thomas explains the thought process behind his designs in detail. It is a very inspirational book, and got my creative juices flowing.
For the price of £23 I think its a bargain.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
This book captures the imagination, as does the work of the studio. It is a good buy. I warmly recommend it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
After going to the V & A to see Thomas Heatherwicks exhibition, which was the most interesting exhibition I have seen for a long time, I really had to buy this book. I have bought it for my husband for christmas. When the book arrived it has a cellophane cover which means I havent been able to take a peek so must wait for christmas day, I am sure I wont be dissapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Impressive appearance, as you would expect from a Design Studio.
Heatherwick became a household name as the creator of the London Olympics 2012 Cauldron. This book, copiously illustrated, describes the many and varied output and ideas of the Studio, varying from small items like Christmas Cards to large buildings. They also designed the new Routemaster bus for London Transport, known unofficially as the Boris Bus after the London Mayor Boris Johnson.
A book to dip into. Well bound and produced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
This book is perfect to get aquainted with Heatherwick's pure genius. All his projects are listed cronologically, each of them has one or more very good pictures and a description and explanation by Heatherwick himself, telling you how he conceived the idea.
The spun chair, the rolling bridge, Shangai Expo Pavillion... and the absolutely astonishing Christmas cards... This book brings pure genius right into your hands!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
A beautiful and informative book about the man who grabbed our attention at London 2012.
Excellent product with instructive and inspirational contents. Need an additional volume now telling the story of that amazing cauldron.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
A fascinating & stimulating read for anyone interested in the process of innovative conceptual design & it's material realisation. An essential reference for anyone studying architectural or industrial design. Anyone want to buy my copy?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
I will contradict other reviewers here because, having eagerly anticipated a book profiling Thomas Heatherwick's work, Thames & Hudson's effort is for me a considerable disappointment. From the shiny, wipe-down cover to the mediocre paper stock and print, it is a poor reflection of Heatherwick's own brilliant ideas, rigorous research / development and superb execution. It's a shame; his outstanding work deserved so much more than this. Sure, it manages to intelligently profile most of the studio's oeuvre, but in terms of production quality, I expected so much more. In particular, repro quality of many of the images is dreadful - like something from a cheap desktop printer. Phaidon should have produced this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
A gripping book beautifully produced. Stunning photos and interesting script. Thomas Heatherwick is a one off innovative designer and this unique quality is admirably depicted in this fascinating book. A must for anyone interested in architecture or design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
This is architect/designer porn: endless great pictures of projects and their models, and it is a BIG (thick) book. The exhibition was great, and I am soooo pleased I got the book. Don't hesitate!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)