Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2014
This is an extremely useful and entertaining book. The author clearly has an in depth knowledge of her subject and writes with a passion for art writing.
I have read a number of 'how to write' type books and whilst informative they are often dull. This book is not one of those at all. I found myself chuckling at some of her observations and the book sits happily as a bedtime read alongside a novel.
The sections on how to write about art in all its various forms (review, catalogue essay, gallery guides, press release) are very thorough, I felt that nothing had been overlooked. The suggested list for developing ones own contemporary art library would be really useful to anyone interested in or studying art whether or not they are a budding writer.
I think this book deserves to become essential reading for art students in the future, just as Gombrich's 'The Story of Art' has been.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
This book is amazing. I am a Curator who has to write about contemporary art as part of my job this includes trying to "translate" artists statements into text that general public would understand.
Gilda William's "How To Write About Contemporary Art" has helped me no end and would be a great addition to any artists, galleries, curators, students, and lecturers bookshelf.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Excellent. I have used this book with my BA students who were unfamiliar with looking at, let alone writing about, contemporary art and exhibitions. As a result of the clear, detailed and concrete advice that Williams provides their writing improved by leaps and bounds. The book is written with spirit, wit and intelligence. My only gripe is the strange ubiquity of hyphens, for which I hold the copyeditor guilty.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
This is a good read when you want to improve your writing, especially for beginners. The book contains good variety of concrete do's and don'ts. It has a lot of examples of good and bad art writing. Chapter on artist statements was a bit short and this book is not the best if you are looking for help when writing applications, cover letters for universities master programs or grant applications. It is more generally to people who write to publications etc. Maybe local newspapers or web articles..but it contains good general advice that can be helpful in all writing. The additional list of e-sources at the end was helpful for further reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
I find it repetitive and pedantic, remarking over and over again do's and don'ts of, for the writer, serious, intellectual and effective art writing.
I didn't find any new insights, but well known: why, what, when, where and, so what maybe not in this order. What has captivated my interest are the art writing extract's layout with her comments of competent writing style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Amazing book! Very practical, straightforward and pertinent. Highly recommend this if you are a student, Phd of art, curator etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Incredibly helpful and well written, makes the task of academic writing on contemporary art just that little bit less daunting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2016
A useful book if you are just starting out. Fun to read too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Williams provides a clear framework for essay writing, press releases, as well as tips for grant applications. Devoid of art-jargon, the book offers a concise and easy-going read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
It's very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)