Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2013
I'm a serious hoarder of fashion books of all kinds, therefore I was surprised I didn't already own this! It's so interesting to learn about the other side of fashion, and its sustainability! Don't be mistaken that this book is going to act as a coffee table book full of pretty pictures to flick through when you're bored! I found reading it cover to cover extremely beneficial and eye opening!! It's completely changed my buying habits as I'm now much more aware of the story before the garment. One of the quotes in the book is by Dame Vivienne Westwood and she says 'buy less. Choose well.' - definitely my new mantra!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
Extremely thorough - will answer any questions you may have about sustainability and the fashion industry, such as those re climate change, the depletion of natural resources and waste. The author says sustainability 'does not mean the end of fashion: it can instead become a catalyst for change.' There's a lot going on to facilitate that change and the book really is a mine of information with contributions from designers - Dries Van Noten and Eileen Fisher, to pick two at random - and companies like Junky Styling in London's Brick Lane which reworks classic men's suits, tweeds, shirts and ties into stylish women's clothing. And you can even take your own hand me downs there for restyling! The book is great on information like that. Plus of course there are loads of fab pictures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Such an inspiring book to read - helped me understand sustainable fashion must more, helped to show the stylish side of sustainability and loved the layout with beautiful imagery that added to the content - a book that you will keep coming back to!

I really recommend this book if you are at all interested in the subject - the title spells it out for you - 'The Handbook'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
you could get all different approaches on sustainable fashion developments in one book. very comprehensive. With beautiful photo's and attractive examples.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
It arrived fast and the quality is really good. The book is perfect with useful information and really amazing with interesting pictures.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
The must have book for everything on sustainable fashion- interesting case studies on different aspects of the industry from high fashion to high street.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Haven't actually started reading yet, but after a brief flick and skim it looks promising.

My only problem is in the title and my subsequent assumption. 'Handbook' to me sounds manageable and quite small, something you can hold easily. This 'handbook' however is large and heavy and not something I will be wishing to lug around with me to read on train journeys or at cafes. never mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Touches on all aspects of sustainable fashion. It is a beautiful book, well thought out and can be read in bits or beginning to end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
Bought for my partner who is doing a HND in the subject. to say she is delighted is an understatement. thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
book is wonderful, with a lot of information, in excellent condition, big format
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)