Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
16
3.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
a gift to my grand daughter studying at Uni. She finds it very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
Firstly, I'd give this a 3 if it weren't such good value in terms of paper and ink compared to many photo books.

As others have described, the book features a sectioned approach to the big hitters in art and contemporary photography from the last 30 or so years, in fact, in some cases I was surprised to see such old work from (excellent) artists like Sugimoto. Images from the 70's aren't very NOW as the book might have you expect, even if they are lovely! Reproductions are good throughout and it covers a wide range of styles and genres, like most photography books it has a strong European and American bias, but that's nothing new.

My complaint with the book would be that it could certainly cover some newer, emerging talent, while the book covers many artists you wouldn't see on the shelves of Waterstones it's by no means packed with obscure young talent in need of exposure, pun not intended. The other issue for me is the text, it's both typographically poor, in that it's MASSIVE and poorly laid out, it's also very thin on conceptual detail and depth. Won't be a problem for everyone, but I'd have liked to see more.

That aside, for it's current very low price it serves as a great introduction to a fascinating area the arts, just don't expect too much. Should you be interested in a more comprehensive survey of modern photography try and track down a copy of Vitamin Ph, which is excellent. Or better yet support British journals such as Photoworks and Source!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2006
The book is divided into themes, such as The City, Portraiture,

etc.

It provides a great intro to all sections, notes on a body of

work that is current for each of the photographers she has

chosen in each section, and the reproductions are amazing.

Each photographer has a quote that is especially well chosen

to depict their body or work, or that reveals about them as a photographer/artist.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2006
This book is beautifully illustrated and has an excellent range of photographers and genres of photography. A good book for discovering the less talked-about photographers who deserve to be more well known. It's very nicely presented and a must-buy for anyone who has even a slight interest in art photography.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
I had to buy this book as part of my reading list for university. I really love this book.

It has great introductions to each of the genres of photography. Followed by a mixture of different photographers. Its great for finding new photographers. And it has a beautiful selection of images.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
A great book especially for me as I've started an HND in photography. Easy to read and laid out well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2006
This book is beautifully illustrated and has an excellent range of photographers and genres of photography. A good book for discovering the less talked-about photographers who deserve to be more well known. It's very nicely presented and a must-buy for anyone who has even a slight interest in art photography.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
Bought this for university to finish my degree with
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Great book for a photography student or amateur
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Highly recommend and great reference book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)