Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 22 January 2017
This book supplies everything needed to identify the different print types like an expert. From woodcuts and engravings right through to the modern laserjet and inkjet prints, you name it, it’s covered.

I’ve seen numerous books on the techniques of print making but little on how to identify prints. This filled that somewhat void by taking, as the author calls it, a Sherlock Holmes approach to identification.

The author states the book is not for reading but rather dipping into. However I found the first section on the diverse kinds of print to be an invaluable backgrounder. The book is easy to follow and has plenty of illustrations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
What it says in the title. It was just what I wanted (it was externally recommended). It helps you to identify the technology used, not the artist nor the subject matter. I do not know enough to be aware of anything missing, but it made me aware of many things I did not already know about the various methods and sub-methods of making prints.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
This is a well written, reader friendly, informative book. It is set out for practical use with extensive cross referencing. The tone is informal and the concepts are clearly and simply stated. As indicated at the start of the book it is written for practical usage rather than cover to cover reading and it is set out with this in mind. The illustrations are a considerable aid to understanding. The great intelligence and usage of it by the author is apparent everywhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2010
This is an invaluable tool to both the collector and enthusiast of print. "How to Identify Prints: A Complete Guide to Manual and Mechanical Processes from Woodcut to Inkjet" is not a read, but a tool to help identify that recent acquisition or old find. Unless one has spent many years studying to acquire the printmaker's knowledge how would one distinguish between an etching, engraving or drypoint, this book demystifies, elucidates and explains the telltale differences.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
A very useful publication. I am a novice collector of certain prints and found the information contained in the publication excellent and it answered all my questions and concerns. The "Sherlock Holmes Approach" section is very useful and has already helped me detect some good and not so good opportunities. The added bonus is the enjoyment of knowing all the processes that have taken place in each print.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2006
This book was absolutely indispensible to me when I worked for an International Art Auctioneers. I admit this was in 1988, and a previous edition of this title, but I couldn't have done without it. I note the new edition has a 'Sherlock Holmes detection' section which is an improvement - however, I managed well without this, just due to the clear explanations in the text and illustrations. It helps to have a small magnifying spyglass handy for finer details.
Absolute godsend - hope the new edition proves as useful today as the earlier incarnation!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2001
The book is a precise and detailed work which cannot be read in one sitting ! Every type of print technique is described and numerous tips given to identify the varieties of printing technique. The crowning glory is the Sherlock Holmes identifier, which leads you through numerous questions in order to identify the print. The book is worth the money for this alone.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
I couldn't get myself to read all in one go, but as a reference book it is excellent. Very good for referring to for a particular subject and the photos and close ups of techniques are useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Informative and useful book. Comprehensive book for novices and accomplished collectors. Great book, but get the updated version.Highly recommended research book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
This is the best book on the subject, and I'm a restorer so it's full of information - it covers all sorts of obscure corners about prints!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)