Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2002
This book goes over everything to do with Tutankhamun and more. It has an entire section about tutankhamun's life and times, several sections on the tomb itself and the funeral equipment found in it. The book reveals many things about tutankhamun which are not very comonley known and is filled with colourful pictures and diagrams. This book is probably one of the best books on Tutankhamun around today. Many of the other books by Nicholas Reeves are also worth a read. I highly recomend this book!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2011
As an artist with a particular attraction to Ancient Egypt I wanted a book that covered King Tut in far more detail than usual. I wanted to be able to see and gain a better understanding of all the items found in the tomb, not just the gleaming gold treasures but the other pieces that were associated with the life of this boy Pharaoh. On opening this book I discovered wonderful things. Finely written and well presented this publication covers about as much as you could need.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
20 years after first publication, only the recent CT scans and DNA testing have moved the story on, though this does not really effect this book in any great way for general readers. I bought this book when it was first published and still return to it, as it really does tell the complete story, or as much as we are likely to ever know. There are some wonderful books that are essentially eye candy about the treaures, and my book shelves groan loudly at the huge weight of some of them, yet they do not tell the story in any great depth. For the general reader, this book is still the standard and will probably remain so for some time.

Three years on from this review I thought I would edit it as it now strongly seems that it is not the "complete" Tutankhamun. If, as seems likely when I edit this on 1 October 2015, that Nicholas Reeves has discovered two previously unsuspected hidden doorways in the burial chamber, then he will have to write a new book, several if his theory that Nefertiti is buried in a further burial chamber in KV62. But this book will still be mostly valid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
This book is very detailed and well illustrated with original photos and drawings.Every detail of the discovery and excavation of the tomb is given in an interesting accessable way.I have read it cover to cover and will certainly return to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Superb! Everything you ever wanted to know about King Tut.
A truly excellent book. Suitable for serious study and for general reading pre- holiday.. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
This compliments the complete history of a young man who became a young king, its pages are packed full of useful information for anyone thinking of taking up archaeology
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
The quality of the book was really good and exceeded my expectations for the price I paid. Delighted with it and a very interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
I bought this book in 1994 when I first became interested in ancient egypt and didn't realise at the time that I couldn't have bought a better book if I tried. I've added many books to my collection since but cannot find one that fully covers the subject of Tutankhamun and the discovery of his tomb better than this. Having said that, despite the great efforts of Nicholas Reeves and this brilliant book,
there is still, I believe, much more that can be written and illustrated on the subject. Many of the tomb's contents are yet to be published and described in detail. Howard Carter's book did cover a lot of this work but unfortunately he didn't live long enough to write his final, more in depth work. For example, take one item; the innermost gold coffin where the mummy rested (there are two more one inside the other), this has to be one of the most incredible works of art and unimaginable skill that has ever seen the light of day. I stared at this monument in the Cairo museum and just couldn't believe the object I was looking at was made over three thousands three hundred years ago. There can't be many people today capable of making such beautiful thing. Modelled and fashioned from 24 carat gold in the image of Tutankhamun, this coffin is a marvel of human ingenuity and unbelievable skill.

For now there is no better book on the subject and I still pour over the pages hoping that one day Nicholas Reeves will write another study for there is arguably no better person qualified to do so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Good value book on the treasures of Tutankhamun. Full of photographs and can be picked up reasonably cheaply on Amazon and Ebay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
I have the hardback and it's similar in structure and layout to its companion title, "The Complete Valley of the Kings".

It's a good popular book, not a stuffy tome. It's more like a big magazine than a book - with sidebars to add extra information. It is stuffed full of photos. Most of the 619 illustrations are in black and white but the main objects are shown in colour photos and the standard of reproduction is very high.

The first couple of dozen pages provides some background on the 18th Dynasty, particularly Ahenaten, and a summary of Tutankhamun's life. This is followed by a section which descibres the exploration of the Valley of the Kings leading up to the discovery of Tutankhamun's tomb. The last pages in the chapter deal with the curse and he death of Lord Caernarvon.

This main body of book is more than 130 pages, with a detailed summary of the tomb, its layout and decoration. There are lots of great photos, and the colour images of the main items are of very high quality. These are high quality, studio lit photographs which have also been printed to a high standard.

I would recommend this book to anybody looking for a book on Tutankhamun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)