Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2003
After slating the introduction to celtic design by the same author, I was pleasantly surprised here!
There is less text and an awful lot of drawings in this book. The techniques of constructing knotwork are thorougly covered, with full illistration, hurrah! Basically this book will help you design a knot to fit almost any space you want, there is also a wonderful appendix of many, many useful little triangular knots at the back.
I would have liked to see more knots with animals in (there are only a couple included) but I assume the author covers these in his animal patterns book, so i can't complain, particularly as these two books are cheaper and contain more information and designs than some other books that cover both styles.
The explanations of knot drawing are very technical, almost clinical, so I would imagine that this would be a good book for those less artistically inclined, it takes you from a grid to an intricate knot pattern in logical steps so you don't need to have much of an eye for it before you start.
A worthwhile buy, very good value.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
this book is completely in black and white.
it lists knots and the skeleton.
it also lists how to construct a panel.
but it does not teach you how to come up with an idea and work it through.
you have to already know what you want.
i am not mathematical and my head spins a bit. but then knot work does that anyway.
it has a very rich array of knots.
i will be content following those knots and the book does tell you how to construct the knot so it is not just tracing without understanding.
worthwhile book to keep.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2016
I am taking up whittling or small size wood carving as a hobby and needed a source of celtic drawings as an inspiration aid when making Welsh Love Spoons. This well printed book gives full details on how to develop all shapes used in celtic writings so I will be able to produce my own drawings to suit the project that I have in hand. It arrived within the time estimated, was well packed and exactly as advertised, will use this seller again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
An Excellent book of practical instruction, describing and illustrating how to set about understanding and reproducing the fascinating Celtic knotwork designs.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
The book is extremely descriptive, but I found it a little confusing as I was hoping it would illustrate how Celtic knotwork could be achieved easily. Although many may find this an illuminating and helpful volume, I was a little lost, but I still can appreciate the wealth of information within its pages. For anyone interested in this area and already perhaps practising some knotwork, I think this would probably be of value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2010
This is a great book for learning how to draw celtic knotwork, very good instructions
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Far too wordy and complicated for me. Makes heavy weather of explaining the how of doing knotwork. I have found far easier instructions. [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
The book was as clean as promised. Arrived on time in good condition.
I'm not sure it's the easiest book to understand knotwork from.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Great service, this was a gift and the recipient was very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2016
Very fast delivery, exactly as described. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)