Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2015
This was a great introduction to the Greek and Roman myths. It was an easy to read and brief guide to the myths and the gods with directions for further reading if you wanted. I did like the way the author had quite a lot of emphasis on how certain sayings we use today are derived from the myths. I also read the similar book about the Egyptian myths which was equally as good.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2016
Lovely and compact, brilliant layout with clear clean descriptions and mini-stories.
Thames & Hudson really do know how to produce the goods.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Much more it this than I expected but it can be read over and over to eventually get it all into perspective. Easy read amusingly written, I will be sending it out to friends and relatives for Christmas as It answers many many questions about our everyday terminology and reasons for things that we take for granted as normal. Excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2016
Intersting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Really good background information and explanations of the myths
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Good guide to the gods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
very well researched and written
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
This account packs a tremendous amount of information in brief passages; very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
The Greek and Roman myths have become one of the most recognisable features of Western Civilisation; think of all the tv shows, art, films, and literature these myths have spawned. Nearly everyone has heard of the Apollo Missions to the Moon, or have seen cupid decorating Valentine cards, or seen films like Disney's Hercules or the Clash of the Titans at the cinema. Long after the religions that propped these myths up have disappeared, the images created by these tales still resonate with us.

Even so, I, like a lot of people, wasn't really familiar with the details of these tales - how they related to each other, or who was who. Thankfully this book provides a witty, well-researched and readable introduction to these ancient Myths.
All of the major gods and godesses are covered, including their origins, as well as other creatures such as the Titans, cyclopses, the Hydra, cerebrus; not to mention other magical creatures such as nymphs, satyrs, nereids and so on. We are also taken on a tour of the major stories from Greek and Roman mythology, such as the epic Trojan War, the Odyssey, Jason and the Argonauts, Theseus and the Minotaur, and so on. What's interesting is how the author explains the why and how's of these stories as well as giving us a look at how they impacted everything from Renaissance art to modern pop culture.

I personally found this book much better than Thomas Bulfinch's highly acclaimed work on the subject. For one, it is far more accessible - the writing is erudite and clear, without being pompous or dull. If anything the writing here is quite witty and funny - this isn't your average dry textbook, but then again it isn't as wacky as Horrible Histories either; which allows the author to pull off a good balancing act between being serious or humorous. The book is also quite beautiful, with over 90 illustrations (in black and white) inside a small gold leaf decorated hardback.

If you really are interested in dipping into ancient myths, and you can't be bothered wading through 'Victorian' tomes on the subject, then this is your best bet as it's a brilliant introduction.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
A superb lucid book which explains the complexities ( that's putting it mildly) of the Greco- Roman gods and lesser mortals - Family trees great Aide! especially the references to modern uses of the the myths with paintings, operas etc. read one chapter a night on holiday - and now will read it again to see how much I can remember. Particularly liked his opinions and comments on the sometimes very whacky characters . they were a promiscuous bunch indeed . A final chapter explainiong when & why they stopped being used/ worshipped etc would have rounded it off more completely I suppose
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)