Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 15 July 2013
This is a stunning book, beautifully presented and with wonderful facsimiles of illuminated manuscripts and psalter.
Anything Stella Panayotova puts together and researches is of very fine scholarship and work, with a fine eye for beautiful detail.
Thank you
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
A joy to read, lavishly illustrated, and we are going to be hearing a lot more about the ingenious Stella Panayotova over the coming decades -- she is a true up and coming master of both codicology and palaeography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2009
I had heard a lot about this book with its true to life reproductions published by Thames and Hudson. It is fascinating to be able to look at a centuries old prayer book in a modern version and read about the reasons why and how the book came to life.
A reader can dip into the book at any point and enjoy the feel of fine quality paper and beautiful coloured pages. A gift for oneself or for somebody to whom you would like to give a beautiful book!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
Package and delivery were fine. Book was disappointing, nothing to do with the seller. It was tiny and not a fasimile. Pictures inside don't have the sharpness a good art book should either.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2011
This is such a beautiful book.

It is a delight to hold, with a cloth bound hard slip case and silk ribbon. It is a work of art.

It allows one, just for a moment to dwell in the medieval world and contemplate the glories of gothic christianity. It is a book to contemplate.

The introduction is by the authoritatve Panayatova.
It is in full colour, printed on quality, thick, smooth paper in the style of vellum. Thee are masses of individual colour illustrations of magnified details from medieval life and beliefs.

My one regret? My reading of medieval scripts is pathetic. I do wish there were a translation.

But buy it, caress it and love it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2013
This little book is well produced - which is importantfor an art history item. The illustrations are very clear,with good colour even though the book is small. The text is clear and informative. The Psalter came to light only fairly recently so as yet there are not a great many books about it though I am sure many are in the pipeline. I used it for exam. revision - but it is also the perfect size, price and quality for a Christmas present to an art loving friend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2015
Lovely book. I have an interest in medieval manuscripts and facsimile copies of some of them can be eye wateringly expensive. This purchase is a full facsimile copy which is beautifully presented in a hard slip case. It comes with an explanation of the images and a background to the book's production. It is a gem to own.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 June 2015
This is a beautiful little book to own; with a wealth of first-class illustrations - which alone - is sufficient for a 5 star rating.

One also has the well-researched accompanying text by Dr Panayotova that is not only informative but interesting.

A very worthwhile purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2016
bought as a gift, so briefest of perusals on my part. Beautifully put together, compact volume. Provides a window into another world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2016
beautiful little volume full of informative information on rural life as well as religion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)