Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
20
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2002
This is the best introduction to the history of Graphic Design I ever read.
The book is very well organized (chronological and geographically), and despiste the amplitude of the subject tries to reach the roots of the cultural and technological context of the big mutations of the contemporary graphic Design.
Easy to read contains reprodutions (however small in size)that help to visualize the essencial movements and authors, and doesn't stop at the Bauhus but goes to just yesterday.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2002
Organised by country and date, this book is a great introduction to where Graphic Design is coming from. Not expecting you to know anything about the topic, this book can be used as a history, or as a quick contextual refrence book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Good book but beware - This is a print-on-demand version so the quality leaves a lot to be desired, especially if you own any of the pukka World of Art volumes which are beautiful. For such a mediocre quality product, the price is very high.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I checked this book out in my university library to help with some essays and then decided to purchase as its such a good resource. It is an informative, well-designed book with plenty of relevant imagery as illustrations. I've used it as resource in many essays since I bought it and was pleased at how low the price was for such a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
As I work best with pictures rather than words. I love graphic design books packed with large images full of inspiration. This has images, but not enough- plenty of writing tho! (hahaha) Guess its good for contextual studies though.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
This is a good foundation into the history of graphic design. I am a 1st year graphic design student, and have found it helpful as a reference. However, I shall most likely purchase something a little more comprehensive to support my future studies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
I paid a stupidly cheap price for this book. It's in excellent condition and as it was previously a library book it came in a clear sleeve, perfect, delivery was in good time too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
I bought this book to aid in my studying of graphic design at university.. very helpful and would definitely recommend to anyone with an interest in the topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
As the title describes describes " A concise History " from the pioneers of art craftsman to Graphic Designers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
This is not a picture book. It is a history of graphic design up to the 1970's in fairly small format, illustrated with mostly small black and white photos. The narrative is not in depth on any one genre or period - how could it be when it covers a century of so much change? But if you want an overview with some intelligent throught on the trends, connections and people, then I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)