Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book is ideal for self-study. If you have not had the luxury of taking a topology course during your undergraduate studies, but you need to know some topology and you have to study it by yourself, this is the book you need. It is very readable and it explains carefully every concept. However, it is just an introductory text and it contains only basic material. You don't have to invest a lot of time to study the material in this book: let's say 40-60 hours of study are enough to grasp everything. I reccomend it especially to those graduate students of applied mathematics, finance, statistics or economics, who need to use some basic result from topology in their work.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2004
This is an excellent book. It is very elegantly written and provides precise understanding of the mathematical concepts required to move from the basic idea of a set to the ideas of topological spaces, via metric spaces.
The six chapters deal with the mathematical concepts clearly and advance the reader's understanding in clear steps. Each chapter divides into sections and the end of each section is a small but comprehensive set of problems which illuminate and extend the section's ideas very successfully.
Given the abstract nature of the material it would be difficult to read successfully without attempting the problems.
The author does not pull any punches with the axiomatic approach required to do this sort of mathematics but neither is the exposition over-formal: the reader benefits greatly from the author's obvious experience of teaching.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2008
Nice book, very entertaining.
I am only on the second chapter ( on metric spaces ) but am finding it interesting enough that I am staying up late reading it. It is very well written and clear.

I have minimal mathematical background ( just a little calculus and linear algebra ) and and sadly lacking in knowledge of analysis, but still find this book understandable.

This is well worth the modest cost.
Heck, this is worth ten times the modest cost !
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
The equations seem to reproduce at fixed pixel dimensions. It's just about usable on old, lower resolution kindles or a PC with a low pixel density screen but modern 300ppi devices are useless, as are all the tablets and phones I've tried. The equations are just too small. Changing the font size doesn't help - it only affects in-text maths, not the standalone equations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 January 2010
I brought this book a couple of months ago, and have read a few chapters. This book is a great introduction to topology - for someone who isn't necessarily a mathematician by trade (I come from a physics background). The book is well laid out, clear and simple explanations (something I find often lacking in Maths text books), and great value for it's low price. Definitely recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2016
This review is regarding the Kindle version specifically.

I have no problem with the content of the book - and would give the book a 4 or 5 for content. However, the layout and formatting in the Kindle edition is absolutely appalling! It almost (almost - but not quite) renders parts of the book unreadable. Another reviewer mentioned the same problem.

Summary ...
Content: 4 or 5
Layout / Formatting (in the KINDLE edition): 1 or 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
If you are doing a module in metric spaces or topology you ought to read this, cover to cover ('cept maybe the first chapter, but this is always the case! Chapter 0 is never interesting) in your first or second year, you should know all the content (like the back of your hand) if you are doing a third year module.

It is a brilliant introduction to everything you will need but is just that - an introduction. There's a superb amount of "hand-holding" in the proofs which I found really useful to boost my confidence, after that I'd start covering proofs and then checking them. This is good!

I completely recommend this book, but I do not recommend it is your only topology book (There is another also called "Introduction to topology" with a blue over and an orange torus on the front, from Dover, this is not an introduction it is much more filled out and much faster, if you combine these two, with Munkres' Topology you're set)

There is one thing I don't quite like, the treatment of Quotient topologies (or identification topologies) is rather weak and hard to understand, but I cannot write off a brilliant book due to an iffy 5 pages.

I have no hesitation in recommending this book. I adore Dover because of the great prices also, I am getting quite the collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
I've recently finished my MPhys in Theoretical Physics, and going to start a Ph.D in Maths. I bought this to get to grips with topology, as I've had no previous exposure and really like the Dover series, I bought this one based on the reviews.

The book is structured into manageable chunks, and the topics are very well explained, with lots of questions this book is vital for either studying topology, either self study or as a course supplement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
A useful book to help with learning Topology which is useful for a mathematics student! Have used this book almost everyday since buying it as it is easy to follow and understand. Has examples and explanations which are really useful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Excellent if you want to get started :) Explains things succinctly and clearly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)