Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
47
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2008
Chesterton is hard to take at times; his irritating metaphors and play on words can grind one down. But, what is extraordinary is that this book is so relevant to the "now". He has grasped the nettle of modern relativism and said: "no, accipio crucem Christi; I believe in the Trintiy of princely might": "it is utterely rational for me to so believe". A definite "must" for anyone who wishes to deal with the issues of modernity and faith.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
I was delighted and surprised with how weird The Man Who Was Thursday turned out to be, having always thought of G.K Chesterton as an old duffer who turned out pleasant crime capers.

Orthodoxy was recommended to me by a vicar, perhaps unsurprisingly. However, GKC's voice is so overpowering at times that it's little surprise that C.S. Lewis is the better known apologist. Still, once one accepts his, at times overbearing, assertions that Pimlico is dreadful etc., there is a challenging argument for the value of ordinariness (or, not thinking too much of/about oneself), which enables you to truly appreciate and value the unusual.

Given his love of paradox, it's inevitable that this attempt to describe what I liked about the book is a reductive misrepresentation of the work as a whole. It's inevitable that many readers would find fault with his constructions of ordinariness, particularly post 70s social theorists. But underneath it all, there is sufficient food for thought.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
If you wander about how to make sense of the paradoxes of Christianity, 'Orthodoxy' is inspiring and stimulating to help you as it has helped me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Don't be fooled by the intimidating title - this is the most fun I've ever had reading a book. Full of penetrating wit and insightful paradox.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2007
This is a fascinating book, which, like all good things, requires initial effort to adjust oneself to the very particular style of the author and an awareness of it's place in time, i.e. the beginning of the nineteenth century. What is so refreshing about this book is the novel approach of the author to important aspects of the faith. It is insightful, humorous and moving. I would absolutely recommend this timeless work to any denomination of Christian.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 1999
In ORTHODOXY, Chesterton provides somewhat of a spiritual autobiography for the reader, weaving together his eloquent writing style with his brilliant Christian apologetics. This book challenges the mind, while arousing a sense of wonder that truly captures the deep spirituality of G.K. Chesterton's own pilgrimage. He explores the realm of mystery in the Orthodox view, while engaging the tradition that it encompasses, transforming it from a safe haven of believe to a rich "romance" of faith and uncertainty. The attentive reader will have difficulty putting this book down.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Chesterton never fails to say what needs to be said and yet manages to say it with such eloquence and wit. Another wonderful read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
This is a classic and remains still highly relevant culturally. Parts are prophetic. The only thing the author did not expect is the contemporary decay of the western parliamentary system. GKCh§s
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
GKC was the greatest Christian thinker of the century and this book simply and accessibly presents a compelling and convincing case for Christianity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Original and thought provoking. I enjoyed it very much. I will be downloading more of Mr Chesterton's books very soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.70

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)