Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2004
Edmund Dulac, along with Arthur Rackham and Walter Crane, is one of my favorite illustrators of all time, so it is hard to be anything but thrilled with this new collection of 55 reproductions of his work. Numerous of his illustrations for "The Sleeping Beauty," "Cinderella," "The Real Princess," "The Snow Queen," and other classic fairy tales are represented. The illustrations are reproduced on high quality paper. Almost every image is at least 5x7 or 6x8 inches in size and suitable for framing. While I don't usually recommend deconstructing books for their illustrations, this book is well-suited for the purpose and preferable to taking apart an older book for its plates. No fairy tale texts are presented, just the illustrations with their titles and sources. If you are an Edmund Dulac fan, buy one copy to take apart for framing and another one to keep on your bookshelf.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2004
If you know anything of the Golden Age of Children's Book Illustration, you will know at least some of Edmund Dulac's beautifully atmospheric pictures, made the best part of a century ago to accompany such works as Sinbad, the Arabian Nights and the works of Hans Christian Andersen. This book contains 50 illustrations, every one of them a work of art. They are breathtaking. If you have ever loved fairy tales, you may well recognize some of these images too. There is hardly any text. Each illustration has its own page, so the details are really clear.
This would be ideal as a gift, either as an introduction to Dulac for a beginner or as a celebration for a more seasoned Dulac fan.Highly recommended.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2010
Looking at the illustrations of Edmund Dulac is like gazing into the center of an opal. The gowns of his fairies and princesses shimmer like reflections of the stars which he spatters across his azure skies. His colors are insubstantial rather than solid so that his figures often seem to float in an other-worldly space, as does Beauty in the Beast's garden. Her feet seem barely to touch the ground as, hands to her ears, she tries to shut out the chatter of the lustrous blue and red parrots, and the iridescent cockatoos that are perched on gigantic hoops, hung from the tall trees behind her (plate 17).

Among the 54 plates, my favorite is plate 25 from Hans Christian Andersen's "Emperor and the Nightingale." The splendid illustration depicts the poor fisherman in his sampan, stopping to listen to the nightingale singing in the trees. Just below a branch, we see part of a thin crescent moon; only the slightest indication of a its reflection delineates the sky from the sea (I was a bit disappointed that the editors omitted the haunting illustration of Death, hovering over the Emperor's bed, pausing to listen to the nightingale). I also love the illustration on the inner title page of Princess Sheherazade and her white peacock; and plate 48 of the Young Man on the Firebird discovering the sleeping Princess, in its stylization, is reminiscent of illustrations on Russian lacquer boxes.

As prolific as Dulac was, there are bound to be omissions (such as the Emperor in his underwear parading through the streets; or the transformed Mermaid discovered by the Prince at the foot of the castle's sea-stairs), but with the Sleeping Beauty, Bluebeard, Cinderella; the Andersen fairy tales; the Arabian Nights; the Firebird, and some of the lesser-known tales, "Dulac's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color" represents a satisfying addition to one's library of childhood memories.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
The book is really a great bargain, and a worthy showcase for Mr Dulac's giant talents. If you want to know how to illustrate books, this is how.

I could be completely wrong, but I'm guessing the reproductions here are reproductions of the original 100 year old prints as they appeared at the time. The quality of repro isn't necessarily top notch...

It would be nice to think that somewhere out there exists all the original paintings by Dulac, just waiting to be gathered together as a complete set, with reproductions that would blow your hair back. Print quality has improved quite a bit since 1904.

Still, Dulac's work shines through nonetheless. RECOMMENDED.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2009
I had forgotten Dulac, but instantly recognised many of the illustrations from childhood books:and I have had a print of the princess on the pile of mattresses [from 'The Real Princess' otherwise known as 'The Princess and the Pea']on the bedroom wall for several years now.It still amazes me how much artistry went into the painting of these illustrations,just to hide inside books,There are many famous 'works'on art gallery walls which are not a patch on these as to detail and appeal!Buy this book for a child and feed his/her imagination.The pictures have so much more to offer than many which illustrate childre's books today.
Buy this bookfor yourself, put it on the coffee table,look at the pictures often,remember a childhood enriched by the talent of Edmund Dulac, dont spill your coffee on them.

The book has given me a great deal of pleasure.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Dulac's Fairytale Illustrations in Full Colour
was disappointing, not as sharp and colourful as Rackham's illustrations. I thought it would give me an alternative style of illustration, but it's similar and not so good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Not many plates compared with some other compilations from Dover books, but high quality.
Epitomises the attention to detail and colour balance lacking in a great many modern illustrators.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
There is no one quite as good at fairy tale illustration as Dulac - some illuminated points in darkness giving extra gravity to a story. This has a lovely collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
Probably my own fault for not reading full details but much smaller and flimsy than I had expected. Some good illustrations but regret spending £10 on this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
I've loved Dulac's illustrations for years, and so I was so pleased to be able to get them so cheaply...with stories as well !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)