Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
15


on 31 March 2017
This is a badly formatted edition with many typos and the footnotes are not hyperlinked. I was able to find a completely free edition elsewhere that was formatted perfectly. So sad that Heraklion Press want to profit from such sloppiness and laziness.

Edit: I should also mention that this edition, by Heraklion Press, is heavily abridged even although it does not say so anywhere on the front or back.

Ricardo's work is largely of historical importance for those with an interest in the development of economic theory. Much of what he says, for example that equal amounts of labour time may have different values owing to factors such as productivity and the cost of living, has passed into common sense and would not be a revelation even to a first year university student. His work is also of interest to those who wish to see its influence on Marx's Capital, which is the definitive work of political economy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
If you are an economist and you have not read this yet then you are in fallacy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2018
I will be returning this badly-formatted copy. The book has no text on its spine: how am I supposed to find it on my bookshelf?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2015
Fine addition to political economy section of home library!
Thank you seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2015
A must for students of political economy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2013
Whilst (for me - but hey - who am I to critisise) there are a few Homer Simpson 'doh' moments in Ricardo's thinking, his underlying principles are possibly more valid today to dig a country out of recession, than they were 'in the day'. Substitue Ricardo's various types of land - and what makes each desirable to own and RUN, and you have the principles of GLOBAL eCommerce trading - comparing (say) a farmer who realises a much larger income from his land by leaving his field 'fallow' and running 'car boot sales' once a week instead, to (say) trading on eBay as a 'market full of stalls where everyone wants something for nothing, to (say) selling on Amazon in a shopping mall full of shops where the more discerning customers flock. If (and its a BIG 'if') a trading treaty was signed to join America to the British Commonwealth - big and small - and also join America to Europe, we would see the end of the recession, we would blow the heavily subsidised goods we purchase from the Far East clean out of the water, and in doing so, we would see the dearth of famine, want, and disease as all three economies 'pull together' to achieve sustainable growth for everyone. Yes Ricardo's thinking is along the lines of Adam Smith - the man responsible for the principles that made Britain the richest country in the world - but Ricardo also has some very good 'twists' to Adam Smith's amazing thinking that should possibly be considered by our Government.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2015
A classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2016
A Classic text, quite well reproduced in Kindle format. Pity his insights, so useful at the time, have been misused by "neo"-liberals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2017
David Ricardo's work is as relevant today as it was in the 19th century when it was written. This is a n excellent edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)