Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 January 2018
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2017
Lovely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2003
I discovered Arthur Rackham's wonderful illustrations about 4 years ago, thanks largely to the book on him by James Hamilton.From the late 1890s until his death in 1939 he illustrated many classics-the Brothers Grimm, Alice in Wonderland,English Fairy Tales, Irish Fairy Tales, The Wind in the Willows,3 different versions of A Midsummer Night's Dream,even Wagner's Ring Cycle. You won't find Ratty or Toad or Shakespeare or the Valkyries in this particular volume but you will find many of the things Rackham is famous for: gnarled and angry dwarfs, terrifying witches, the Sleeping Beauty in her finery, also dark, twisted trees in dark landscapes.If, like me, your appetite for Rackham has been whetted, this book is for you.If you don't know his work, but simply like fairy stories,this is also a good buy.There's virtually no text-just the title of each illustration and the title of the book it originally appeared in.No analyses, no biography-for that, there's James Hamilton's excellent book.
0Comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2013
a very enjoyable book. Excellent review of Rackham's works. Very good prints, a book that makes you remember the fairy tales of your youth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2012
Give this book to a child. It will of course delight adults who know Rackham and appreciate it as art, but the real audience for this book is children. It is just pictures, no story to detract from the imaginative experience, and what pictures, what twisted trees and hook nosed old women, what big lipped goblins, what self contained cats and sinewy dragons. We talk down to children when we offer them the polite, sanitized images and concepts that pass for childrens books now. The reason Grimms Fairy tales were classics was because they really reached into the psyche. Rackham does the same thing with his illustrations. If you want to be the most discerning relative, forget the hungry caterpillar; give this as a gift without comment and stand back.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2009
This is a lovely book;the right size for a 'coffee table' book and beautifully produced for the price.For particular fans of Arthur Rackham's illustrations,then this is wonderful.Even though I have every Rackham book I can acquire, [and have Rackham prints on my walls], I still frequently sit and look through this one because its conveniently to hand. If you are new to A.R. then buy this as a taster.His pictures reveal something new at every viewing and are at once enchanting,fantastical,darkly Gothic,witty,and speak of that knowledge of the hidden 'fairy' world that lies deep in the human consciousness.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
I bought this book for a university project I was doing and the illustrations in this book are simply stunning. It's a lovely book that is a must have if you love illustration.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2013
Absolutely beautiful book, full of the most amazing full page illustrations in luxurious colour. A must for all fairy and fantasy fans and also fans of artwork.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2012
Wanted to enter the racham world of goblins and fairy sprites, this was the perfect vehicle. Plates are fab.
Just what I was looking for. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2014
beautiful postcards which I have framed in stunning snow white mirror style frames. saved some for cards for friends too. definitely worth buying
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)