Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 January 2012
I am a Surface pattern Designer who has been in the industry for over 30 years, and I am currently researching and creating a design manual based on traditional hand painting design techniques which are similar to the training that I had. This book is an excellent as it covers most design principles which I can relate to although the style of writing may be a little too antiquated for more modern designers or beginners which some may consider not relevant.
However I think this book is must for your design library.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2014
Its old but cheap and informative for a beginner in repeat design...it explains a lot of approaches. Some of the writing is a bit stodgy but the diagrams and illustrations speak for themselves. its difficult at times to pair up writing with illustrations. The wooden book on symmetry is a useful companion to this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2014
A most excellent book on Print Textile Design. If you want to get a proper understanding on how textile print designs are constructed then this is the book for you.The English grammar used is Victorian but the knowledge is bang up to date for the digital world of creative design.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2016
I was really looking forward to receiving read a few pages and feel little disappointed with it. There is too much boring writing and too little visual systematic explanation. The author writes that pattern is heavily based on certain geometric principals which, of course is true. But does not clearly and simply explain the step by step. Instead rambles on sentence after sentence. I will try to fully read this book and highlight any interesting or valuable points but it feels like a tedious read. As per the illustrations they could do with improving. What I always find disappointing is low quality visual material published on subjects about visual material. Despite all the negative points I am hoping to will find some use for this book and learn something useful anyway
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
This book is a must have for Surface and Textile pattern designers because is simple and at the same time it gives all the basics to start drawing patterns and borders.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2013
Every surface designer should read this! I would recommend it to students playing with patterns and design in general. Old school but very inspiring!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2015
A Victorian design book aimed at wallpaper designers but still has useful info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2016
this was purchased on some ones behalf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2014
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)