Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 January 2015
Just what was expected by RPG, his knowledge base as aye is encyclopaedic and descriptions of the crossbow's stages of development are just as sought by me. I'd rather have had it in hardback but the Kindle version outweighs so much having all those paper doorstops all over the house!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2013
After having looked for an affordable copy of this book for a very long time, I was amazed to find I could down load it to my Kindle. it is the ultimate read for all who are interested in the crossbow, its history and construction. It is every bit as good as the library archive copy I originally read, when I first became interested in building crossbows.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2015
Tells you all about the history and is great if you like your crossbows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2014
Very readable - unlike some books of the period. Good coverage of both history and construction of the crossbow. I am planning to build a replica medieval crossbow and the construction details with typical dimensions and methodology in the book are a excellent starting point. A book of true value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2015
one for those who love history and like to know how things work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2015
The books contents are amazing. A very good read. However the edges of the pages had a load of grubby black marks. Not something that I would associate with a brand new book.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2014
covers area fully
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
I was disappointed in this. Almost all of it was historical stuff and very little on the up to date use of crossbows.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 1998
The all-time bestseller with a first edition as far back as 1903, later to appear with the 1907 appendix, was written by an amateur (in the true sense of the word) of archery who apparently had an unlimited source of money and time, but only modest background in physics. Along with the history of the crossbow, detailed accounts of the construction and maintenance of various crossbows designed for bolts and bullets are given. Related and/or relevant medieval weapon, like longbow, ballista and arquebus, are also treated in some detail, and the 1907 appendix on turkish bows serves to give a most interesting contrast to european archery of the epoch. When it comes to performance and comparison of the variety of weapon described, maximum range and -sometimes- draw force is the only information given, whereas obvious ballistic terms like exit velocity, time-of-flight and air resistance are conspicuously absent. Some self-evident details of construction or handling, clearly vi! sualized by the illustrations, are too often spelled out in full, while more obscure mechanisms of elaborate trigger systems, which would benefit from a whole lot more detailed explanation, are treated casually. This said, it must be stressed that on the whole it IS a very fine piece of work, made by a historian rather than an engineer, a book without a match for almost a century, and certainly well worth recommending.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 1998
This book is, quite frankly, the one-stop place to look for information not only about all aspects of crossbows, but related subjects such as the Chinese chu-ko-nu, or "repeater crossbow," seige engines, and other related topics. The author apparently had enough money and spare time to actually experiment, and living in pre-World-War-I Britain, had access to actual original examples of a lot of the weapons he wished to study. Building copies to test them, he came up with definite figures on how they worked and how well they worked, or didn't.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)