Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 28 February 2008
The Rime of the Ancient Mariner is an incredible poem. Haunting and thrilling, it captivated the reader with its superlative descriptive writing. Coleridge describes the endless sea from the vastness of icy Antartica to the smooth tropical seas. The mariner has visions of sea monsters and Death, who plays a dice game in which Death wins the lives of his ship's crew. The mariner recounts a nightmare voyage to the South Pole from which he alone survives to tell the tale.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2017
A poem that should be read by everyone; a deeply spiritual quest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2016
very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2016
item as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2015
Great poems and insanely cheap!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2013
Surprised there are so many poems but enjoying ALL of them - would have liked an index
but on the whole a great read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2015
I had seen a version of the "Rime" which had additional notes inserted to explain the story and I thought this was it. It isn't but still is a very acceptable tome which additionally includes more writings from Coleridge and makes for a fine collection in a convenient A5 format. The original language of Ancient Mariner is retained and does call for attentive reading to fully appreciate the flow. A good book for just the prose, but somewhere out there is another with helpful explanation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2015
Was the needed for a levels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2011
This book is on my daughter's english literature list. She doesn't like the "olde English" language but besides that it's OK. The text is a good size.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2006
This is one of my favourite poems and this book reproduces it for you at a great price. This is one of the best epic story poems out there and well worth a read, even if you've not read much poetry before. This book is a great format and well worth the small outlay to get a classic piece of poetry.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse