Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2005
This review is not intended to tell you lots about the book, only about who the book is aimed for. I bought this book with the expectation that it would have lots of puzzles suitable for the "average Joe", or there abouts and would require some level of Mathematical thinking so would be nice, light hearted practice for my students ( I am a secondary school maths teacher). The level and style of the puzzles varies, but the majority of problems are aimed at those who are capable of attaining grade A at GCSE Mathematics and it does have some fairly complex solutions. The layout of the book is also fairly old fashioned. It was first published in 1971 and the font and presentation is in line with what you would expect of a book published at that time. If you are looking for puzzles involving a higher level of mathematical thinking and a variety of styles of problems however then this book does suit this purpose.
In summary, this book may be great or fairly useless, depending on for what purpose it is wanted.
0Comment| 102 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2002
Do not read this book before starting work or less than 4 hours before going to bed. Once these puzzles get hold of your brain, it's no use for anything else. Keep the book in a locked drawer and only get it out when you have several hours to spare.
They start off easy, but soon escalate to the point where you swear the puzzles must be misprints and there is some information missing. Eventually, you turn to the answers and kick yourself black and blue. When you know one answer, you think the next puzzle will be easier. It isn't - each one needs a completely original mode of thought.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
I love riddles and puzzles and I have bought many similar books to this one.
I find many of the puzzles a bit boring, demanding mostly trials and not creative way of thinking. I do recommend it though. (Also, note that the printing quality itself is fair to cheap)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 1996
As a 7th grade math teacher, I use problems from this book
to supplement my gifted pre-algebra classes, and to provide
a challenge to my math teams. Superb book.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
I first purchased this book as a Pelican edition when I was teaching mathematics in high schools. It contains a lot of puzzles which are suitable for dishing out to pupils as a homework or as a time filler for the faster workers. The current version on offer here is like one of the cheaper American reprint house versions - the typography and illustrations appear to be inferior to the version that I originally had. I repurchased the book for personal entertainment and its entertainment value is just as great now as it was when I first purchased a copy over twenty years ago. I still give out the occasional puzzle to members of my tutor group and they are usually well received. The current book is a bargain. I'm sure that I paid something close to the current price for my original copy.

Puzzles range from number based ones e.g. Use the nine digits 1-9 and plus and minus signs to make a total of 100 through geometric puzzles i.e dividing shapes into equal amount using the minimum number of cuts through to logic based ones that appear to need some complex maths but can be solved by using common sense and simple arithmetic. It's not a book that will convert that maths averse but will draw in those whose interest can be kindled by the repackaging of maths into a puzzle format.

There's something for everyone in this book.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
perfect collection of puzzles
will take on hols and probably complete only 10 per hol
but a real good mix of puzzles
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Great puzzles, thankfully with solutions! This is full of "old" puzzles, some of which I knew already under different names. It was interesting to see the originals...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
great book, Have not had the time to ready and solve all the puzzles though.. filled with classic puzzles that you might have even came across in school or from a friend, finally you would have discovered the source of some of the most famous puzzles in the world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
This is a very fun puzzle book to go through. I am still only in the first chapter which consists of the easiest puzzles, and it has been fun to pick it up now and then to solve one or two puzzles. The first chapter is more or less filled with mathematical braintteasers which don't need much math to solve so it is perfect for kids and teens too. I will try to remember to update this review when I get to the more difficult chapters.

A good thing about this book is that you don't need to write anything in the book, you can do many of the puzzles simply in your head, on a piece of paper, or by using various items from the home (such as toothpicks), all depending on what type of puzzle it is. That means you can always go back to do the same puzzle again and other friends and family members can use the same book, over and over again, making it a good investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Some of these puzzles will be well known to regulars, but there are enough new ones to keep the interest up. And some of the later ones (which do get quite mathematical) are not easy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse