Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2017
Very small print and very dated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
Seems a little old fashioned but still useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
This book covers all the fundamentals of Greek grammar: nouns, adjectives, personal pronouns, verbs, etc. It does break down these areas in a logical fashion in just under eighty pages plus a glossary on grammatical terms. Knowing the information in the book will definitely help you decipher the language. The Greek lettering is tiny so read in a good light. Also, there are many sections that exist as a series of rules (rule applies in cases when preceded or followed by these eight or ten letters). That kind of information is difficult to read and even more difficult to remember but perhaps that aspect of Greek can not be simplified or made more palatable. All in all I am very glad I bought this book, and I feel my knowledge of the language was significantly enhanced.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2005
This book is worth buying simply due to the fact that it's so cheap. It isn't the best of books on Greek grammar, but it does manage to get a lot of important information in. Obviously, when you're dealing with a subject as irregular and complicated as Greek grammar, you can't expect too much from a book of its size, so it's surprising to find there's actually quite a lot in there. If you're new to the language, or you need a small book to carry with you for reference then this will serve its purpose well. If you're wanting a more detailed grammar, I'd recommend 'Greek: An Essential Grammar Of The Modern Language' by David Holton et al.
A word of warning- this book was written in a time when a different accent system was used in Greek. The language hasn't changed but accents have been greatly simplified since then.
22 Comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Be aware that the Greek in this volume is now out of date in some rspects, ie using redundant accents and spellings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Very old fashioned compendium. My boyfriend is Greek and told me that many rules and spellings in the book are completely out of date. Greek language has evolved since this book was written.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
We have been learning greek for 4 years now and originally had this towards the end of our first year in paperback. Have now bought on the kindle too as it really is essential if you want to grasp the grammar, which is quite essential in learning greek.

Easily understood in plainish english, in logical order using tables wherever possible, making it easier to learn the different versions of words depending on gender, case etc

Highly recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
I am happy enough with this grammar book but my greek friends are telling me that it is out of date now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I bought the Kindle version of this to replace a lost and well-used print version I had. I would strongly advise against the Kindle version of as some of the Greek language text appears as if a photocopied and pasted snippet. Some of the Greek is actually printed and pasted incorrectly.

However, let me stress that this is an excellent book for those of us learning Greek. It functions well as a ready and easily accessible grammar reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
Useful little book (even though Modern Greek has changed since the book was published, still a great resource)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)