Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
27
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 1998
I have finally found a card trick book that actually presented entertaining illusions without hours of practice trying to master multiple sleight of hand techniques. In fact, I picked up a half-dozen card tricks in about a half hour.
Three ingredients would have made this book a ten: 1) More ideas on presentation and patter. 2) Better illustrations. 3) Some of the explanations could have been a bit clearer.
All an a good book for amateur magicians of all ages looking to add quality card feats to their bag of tricks.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
This book is just too cheap for kindle, the information is fantastic, start to finish there's something for almost all skill levels. If you're intermediate to advanced you won't use the 'tricks' but you're sure to get some new take on worn principles. To reviewers rating it down, false shuffles & cuts get stacked decks into play, look up the half pass for reverse effects.
The price is worth it for the near forgotten Long Distance effect alone (try getting work this way, mail business + playing cards in advance with a note for the time of call etc.) Guaranteed to utterly destroy a future client if combined with a blind book test.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
This is a good compendium of self-working card tricks, which get difficult very quickly – and I'm never going to be able to invisibly prepare the deck. Yo can pre-prepare the deck, and it's possible to then keep the deck unshuffled by doing some fancy fake shuffles – but I just don't have that dexterity. I knocked off a star because the book is aimed at a level of expertise higher than I'll ever attain, so if you have good dexterity, then add that fifth star back on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2007
If you have friends like mine there is absolutely no way they will let you get away with setting a deck. As soon as those cards come out they'll want them shuffled which is fine for half the tricks in this book which at best are obvious ie. note the bottom card style tricks. The majority of the rest of the tricks require that you rig the deck prior to the trick. I bought this book to entertain my mates at the pub. Frankly i'm very disappointed. The outline said that the tricks are self-working based on the statistical distribution of the cards in the deck, or something along them lines, but i'm afraid thats just not true.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
This is a first class publication for magicians of all levels it is very informative in an easy going sort of way, the demonstrations are clear and concise and would be easy to follow regardless of your skill level.
Once again I have received a book from Amazon that was in tip top condition , which arrived promptly and has been read from cover to cover several times already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
An excellent book from Karl Fulves. Although the title might suggest anyone can perform these tricks, you should be aware that some knowledge of basic manipulation is required. Having said that, it's an excellent book for anyone prepared to put in the time required to learn the magic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Excellent book for both a beginner or an improver. Some tricks look difficult on first reading but if you do the trick step by step with a pack of cards you will be surprised how simple most of them are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Some of these tricks are mind -boggling. Some of them are so easy to execute.......but I still do not understand why some of them actually work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
The level of detail is insufficient for kids and the diagrams are relatively basic.
I guess the tricks themselves are OK, some relatively obvious one, but then what do you expect from the title.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I gave this to Trevor - since then he has been amazing friends and family - they think he can read their minds Simples
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.