Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 December 2013
Reading a little bit every day and hope that I will be able to keep that up. I am sending for the second volume and also Schopenhauer for the Perplexed which I hope will support my reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Amazing Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Difficult reading at first, but once 'into the context' excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Fast delivery- good price. It's not the most robust cover but I wanted a copy that i wasn't going to be too precious about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
Schopenhauer is generally regarded as a 'correction to Kant' and that is very true.

As Kants Critique starts well, and ends in a floundering mess of complexity, Schopenhauer picks up the thread and with - amazingly - wit and verve accepts Kant's basic position, and then goes on to clarify it, before too floundering into a bit of a mess at the end.

It's not surprising- metaphysics is always thinking about thinking, and that's a hard - possibly the hardest - thing to achieve clarity at.

If you aren't interested in Metaphysics why are you reading this review?

If you are, then this is a must have for the collection. And its a good translation too.

Schopenhauer is often dismissed these days. Don't. He's good and he's sharp. Understand what he tries to say and make your own mind up.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
The other reviews here give a fair indication of the content of his philosophy but I thought I'd add a comment about Schopenhauer's style. It is both magnificent in itself and wonderfully appropriate for the subject matter. On opening these Dover volumes at random you may feel intimidated by the density of the text - often there are entire pages that seem to consist of a single paragraph (we are almost in Thomas Bernhard country!) but there is no need to fear. It does take a bit of adjustment i.e. you have to make sure you have time and are prepared to put in some effort - at least initially. But soon you will find that, once you have adapted to the prose style, it is marvellously clear. And it is a fitting style. Schopenhauer is an awesomely sombre thinker and his sentences are long and winding but really quite bewitching. Of course you may not agree with everything e.g. at the beginning of the second book he makes some dubious connections between the five senses and certain moods. But you will find here a consistent and powerfully expressed outlook. He was also both a master of the inspired metaphor and an astute observer of humanity. I particularly love his observation that it is not the prizes that are beyond our reach or the disadvantages we see as inevitable that bother us but the matters that we can change that cause us distress. This is not what we would like to hear if we see ourselves as great "movers and shakers" but, like much that Schopenhauer says, it is quite true.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
The best book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
this is not a review of Schopenhauer five star masterpiece, but of Amazon's description of the volume.

This volume does not contain the stated 1269 pages but 534. Amazon should revise the discription of the amount of pages to make it absolutely clear that it is only volume one that you actually get (especially when volume two seems not to be offered or isn't in print - it doesn't pop up as a recommendation). When your ordering you are not sure if the fault is the desciption of the amount pages or of the volumes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
I have read the Schopenhauers works about how to get the best out of life and how to understand the world and the people around you. Intelligent people can read these works and understand him. What he writes about relates to their own experience.This book is something else. Arthur S. starts with the philosophy of Kant, which he calls incomplete and in some ways incorrect, and presents his own "follow up" which he feels is the last word on the philosophical understanding of the world we live in. I had to give up after 10 pages.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)